Moving to Canada

Dietrich Tiessen
2 min readJul 25, 2022

What is it like moving from Germany to Canada?

In 2006 my parents moved to Canada from Germany. We started the process in 2004 and finally received the permanent resident card in 2006. Many families chose to move to Canada at that time out of concern that Germany wouldn't be able to offer much to the next generation, little did they know that the next couple of years would be one of the best Germany had ever seen.

My wife in front of a canola field in the prairies

Long story short, when I arrived in Canada I was introduced to a small school in Saskatchewan and the culture shock was more extensive than I anticipated. Moving from a school with 80 to 100 students in grade ten, they were divided between 10a to 10d, to a school where all the students combined were 92 from kindergarten to grade 12.

This had some advantages as well as some disadvantages. The advantage was that the teacher were able to offer us extra time to make sure we graduate. When I arrived I was in grade 10 and was able to finish grade 10 in Canada. After that, I finished grades 11–12.

The school was one thing, and when you move from a city of 80,000 people to a town of maybe 300 people you don't know that everyone knows everyone and what they are going to do in the next 10 minutes. To say it was an adjustment is an understatement.

--

--

Dietrich Tiessen

I have been a finance enthusiast for the last 10 years. I have lost some and made some back, I like to learn new things and teach them to others if they work.