My letter to Justin Trudeau

Regan Gorman
4 min readNov 17, 2016

--

The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau November 16, 2016
Prime Minister of Canada, Ottawa

Mr. Trudeau.

This is the first time in my life I have felt strong enough about something to write a letter to a public official.

Since the US Presidential Election I have struggled with how to express what I feel and to whom I should reach out to. While turning to a like-minded social network will certainly garner empathy, my social network doesn’t include people who may actually be able to alter the situation.

You sir are the person I feel I can / must reach out to. While I am only one voice, it is the voice of a citizen in the country you are elected to support, defend and help prosper. You are the one person who can not only hear and (hopefully) understand my concern, but you are obligated by your position to act.

While I appreciate the need for diplomacy when working with foreign governments, I feel the majority of Canadians would support you taking a strong position when dealing with President Elect Trump. If we (for a moment) set aside that we are dealing with our largest trading partner and a country we share the largest undefended border with ~ would we be tolerant and accepting of any another foreign leader who is on a path that will reverse so many of the rights and civil liberties we worked so hard to improve? At the risk of appearing alarmist, would we not do everything in our power to ensure nuclear weapons didn’t end up in the hands of an irrational, unpredictable leader? I am 53 years old and for the first time in my life I am actually afraid that weapons of this nature could be used.

I am writing today in the hopes that you will consider President Elect Trump a hostile foreign leader and treat him as such. Since the night of the election, many people have told me “it was just election rhetoric” and “there are enough checks and balances in place to keep the extreme from happening”. While that is my hope, I’m not convinced. My impression of Mr. Trump is that he will say what he needs to in public, but will then proceed to do whatever what he wants. If his track record showed stability, and his actions during the campaign were out of character….. momentary outbursts driven by frustration, I may be willing to wait and see what happens next. Unfortunately, Mr. Trump’s views and opinions of women, minorities, immigrants, the LGBTQ community……pretty much any group that doesn’t fit neatly onto the Christian right has been pretty consistent for decades.

The plaque at the base of the Statue of Liberty reads: “Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, the wretched refuse of your teeming shore. Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me, I lift my lamp beside the golden door!” In an effort to bring a little levity to my letter, I understand that Mr. Trump actually has a “Golden Door” but he seems to want to slam it on all who are mentioned on the plaque.

Ironic.

At the risk of oversimplifying the situation, Mr. Trump is the bully in the schoolyard and I am calling upon you to stand up to him. I’m sure the U.S. will attempt to flex its economic muscles and we’ll take a few black eyes along the way, but a bully can only retain its power against a fearful audience. The citizens you lead are marching in protest. These same citizens will rise to your defense should you be willing to stand defiant of the regressive policies being put forth by this soon to be formed foreign government.

We are small. They are big.

Defiance will almost certainly come with a cost. But there’s a difference between cost and value. I am willing to accept an increase in cost if there is value in that higher price. In this case, the value will be our continued insistence that climate change is not just a conspiracy; that women have the right to do as they wish with their bodies; that you love is more important that the gender of who you love; that regardless of the colour of your skin or your religious beliefs you are welcome; that we continue to learn from our differences rather force assimilation.

Do not underestimate the lengths we, the citizens of Canada will go to in defense of the progress we have made.

Do not be afraid to be transparent. Tell us what standing up for our beliefs will cost us and let us decide. I think you will be pleasantly surprised with how willing we are to support you — and the values we hold so dear.

Barack Obama said “The world needs more Canada”. It’s time for us to answer the call.

I appreciate your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

Regan Gorman.

--

--

Regan Gorman

Vegan Handyman striving to see Meaning in the little things - and the big things.