The difficulties of finding a good crypto discord forum

Douglas Lampi
Web3 Speaker
Published in
6 min readMar 6, 2023

--

Eh, how’s it goin’ folks? My name’s John, and let me tell ya, I’ve been on a wild goose chase to find a good crypto Discord forum.

It’s been a tough slog, but I finally found a few diamonds in the rough, and I’m here to share my journey with you all.

Good crypto discord forums are actually hard to find.

Now, when I first got into crypto, I was like a deer in headlights. I had no idea what I was doing or where to start. So, like any good Canadian, I turned to Google and started searching for Discord forums. And boy, did I find a lot of them.

But here’s the thing about crypto Discord forums — they’re like the wild west. You never know what you’re going to get. Some are full of scammers and spammers, while others are filled with people who think they’re experts but really don’t know what they’re talking about.

So, I had to weed through all the rubbish to find a few good ones. Here’s the spoiler so you can skip directly to the short list of good crypto discord groups and what I did to narrow down my own list:

Step 1: Do Your Research

The first thing I did was research different crypto Discord forums. I looked at forums that were focused on specific cryptocurrencies, as well as general crypto forums. I read reviews and comments from other users to get a sense of what the community was like. And let me tell ya, there were a lot of forums that were just downright sketchy.

Step 2: Join a Few Forums

Once I had a list of forums that looked promising, I joined a few of them. I didn’t want to put all my eggs in one basket, so I joined forums that focused on different aspects of crypto. Some were more focused on trading, while others were more focused on the technology behind crypto. This gave me a well-rounded perspective on the industry.

Step 3: Observe and Participate

After I joined the forums, I started observing and participating in conversations. I didn’t jump right in and start asking a bunch of questions. Instead, I watched how people interacted with each other and how they discussed different topics. I also participated in conversations when I felt like I had something to contribute.

Step 4: Look for Red Flags

While observing and participating, I kept an eye out for red flags. If someone was spamming the forum with links to their own website or trying to sell me something, I quickly moved on. I also looked out for people who claimed to be experts but didn’t really have the knowledge to back it up. And if a forum seemed too good to be true, it probably was.

Step 5: Narrow it Down

After a few weeks of observing and participating, I was able to narrow down my list of forums to a handful that I really liked. These forums had active communities, knowledgeable members, and were free from spammers and scammers.

Get to Know the Discord Group Leaders

Ah, the leaders of a crypto Discord group… The Leader and the MODs can make or break the whole experience. Trust me, I’ve been in groups where the leader was a complete clown, and it was chaos. But I’ve also been in groups where the leader was a rockstar, and it was a great learning experience. So, let’s talk about why the leader of a crypto Discord group is so important.

First and foremost, the leader sets the tone for the whole group. If the leader is constantly hyping up new discovery projects in the crypto sphere without any methodical trading approach, the group is going to be a mess. Members will be jumping on every new project without any real research, and they’ll likely lose a lot of money.

On the other hand, if the leader is focused on a methodical trading approach, the group is going to be a lot more structured. Members will be encouraged to do their own research, and the leader will provide valuable insights and analysis on how different projects are matching up to the methodical trading approach. This seems to me like it is much more likely to lead to success in the long run.

So, how do you spot a leader who is focused on a methodical trading approach? Here are a few things to look for:

Check out their social media profiles on YouTube and Twitter as well as a traders profile on TradingView — perhaps some published cryptocurrency research articles to show they know thier stuff.

They Have a Solid Track Record

A good leader will have a solid track record of success in the crypto world. This doesn’t mean they’re always right, but it does mean they have a lot of experience and can provide valuable insights based on that experience. Look for leaders who have been involved in crypto for a while and have a good understanding of how the market works.

They Encourage Practice

A good discord group leader will encourage members to do their own trading journal as they practice implementing the trading systems methodical entries and exits. The discord group may be giving out buy and sell signals, but will also be providing insights into why a certain project is matching a signal in the trading method. They’ll also be encouraging members to do their own trading spreadsheets and learn from their own trading mistakes.

They’re Willing to Admit When They’re Wrong

No trading system is always right, and a good leader knows that. They’re willing to admit when they’re wrong because they know that being wrong in trading is not a mistake.

The have a risk management system that keeps losses small and responsibility for when the system closes a trade at a loss. This shows that they’re not just trying to pump up their own investments, but are truly following their own methods and sharing with the group.

They Don’t Just Hype Up New Projects

A good leader won’t just be hyping up new projects without any real analysis. They’ll be looking at projects from all angles, including the team behind the project, the technology, and the potential for long-term success. They’ll also be looking at the market trends for their entry and exit signals as well as how the project fits into the larger crypto landscape.

High Five when you actually find a GOOD crypto group

Step 6: Get Involved

Once I had my list of preferred forums, I started getting more involved. I asked questions, shared my own experiences, and contributed to conversations. I also started following some of the members on Twitter and other social media platforms to stay up-to-date on the latest crypto news.

So there you have it, folks. It took a lot of trial and error, but I finally found a few good crypto Discord forums. And let me tell ya, it’s made a world of difference. I’ve been able to learn so much from the community, and I’ve even made a few friends along the way.

If you’re on the hunt for a good crypto Discord forum, I hope my journey can help you get there faster. Just remember to do your research, observe and participate, look for red flags, and get involved. And if you’re lucky, you might just find a few diamonds in the rough

--

--

Douglas Lampi
Web3 Speaker

Digital Assets + Artificial Intelligence = Passive Income Side Hustle. Watch: https://www.youtube.com/@ai-BusinessPlans