My preferred Chrome extension to track detailed Medium blog statistics

Use it to enhance the native Medium capabilities

Dmytro Iakubovskyi
Data And Beyond
Published in
2 min readFeb 26, 2023

--

One of the questions I have recently asked is how to reliably track detailed statistics of my Medium blog. Currently, native Medium capabilities are relatively limited — for example, there is no split of daily views/reads among individual articles, no track of followers, etc.

After searching for different solutions, I found a free Chrome extension called Medium Next Generation Stats created by Guilherme "Virgs" Moraes that, among others, provides the desired functionality. Here is, for example, the daily views split for my views visible after adding the Chrome extension:

Source: author, a screenshot of author’s stats at https://medium.com/me/stats

As you can see, my recent article about dog intelligence,

has attracted about 27% of total views on that day.

Another useful visualization you can get from there is a pie chart. See, for example, this one is for the reads during the last 30 days:

--

--

Dmytro Iakubovskyi
Data And Beyond

Top writer in AI, Movies | Senior data scientist | Editor in Data And Beyond | https://www.linkedin.com/in/dima806/