Do You Also Struggle With The “Good Little Girl” Syndrome?

Fitting into the patriarchy isn’t easy

Dina A
3 min readApr 18, 2022
Photo by Caroline Hernandez on Unsplash

As a child, I was a good little girl. Never caused any issues, just sat there in the background and allowed others to decide how I should think, behave, dress and speak. Eventually, I found a man who continued to make all those choices for me, perpetually keeping me in the “good little girl” state of mind.

But as an adult, I’m no longer a “good little girl”, and it infuriates me how this now presents me as “problematic”, “difficult”, “emotional”, or worse, “bitchy”.

It starts in childhood

We visited family one year, and my mother wanted me to come with everyone else to visit my brother. She knows how broken the relationship is between my brother and me, yet she continued asking me if I wanted to come. Why didn’t I just come for a little while, it’s family, you can go home after a little while, come on, everyone else is going. And my uncle and cousin joined in, putting pressure on me no matter how many times I said no.

As a woman, I’m supposed to fall in line. It’s expected of me even as an adult. But I'd had enough when my uncle put his hand on my elbow and tried to pull me along.

--

--

Dina A

Writes fiction. Reads too much. Drinks far too much tea for my own good. Mother of little males. Psychology nerd.