Seeing through new eyes.

Nadine Reed
2 min readNov 6, 2023

--

Looking into their eyes, knowing each one of them, they tell me their stories every morning with more curiosity than the day before. Their hearts are so pure and beautiful. They love so unconditionally without expecting anything in return. Other teachers complain and believe that children are inherently mischievous, prone to challenging behaviors, and often resistant to adult wisdom. I believe that children are born with a core of intrinsic goodness and pure intentions.

Photo by Shravan K Acharya on Unsplash

When I notice a child misbehaving, I stop myself from labelling them and remind myself that children are not their behaviour. The children know that they can change their behaviour and often there is something that the child is going through. We as teachers need to stay curious and find out, what the problem is behind the behaviour. For example, there was a boy in my class that could not stop talking. I stayed curious and found out that he was struggling with anxiety. For him, to stay grounded he needs to talk to feel a sense of ease.

Photo by Edi Libedinsky on Unsplash

My Grade 1 students were so intelligent, and they taught me how delusional we are about the depth of children’s awareness and intelligence. I have seen how adults exclude children from conversations in order to protect them. By underestimating their capacity for understanding, we risk leaving them unprepared for the challenges of the 21st century. When I talk to my students’ parents, I always make sure to include the children in the conversation. It is so important to include children in the difficult conversations. They pick up on things very easily and often end up feeling hurt and misunderstood for not being included. It is imperative, therefore, to recognize their potential, actively engage them in meaningful conversations, and nurture their resilience and problem-solving skills, allowing them to flourish in their unique journey through childhood and beyond.

--

--

Nadine Reed

Teacher/ Play therapist/ Artist and unofficial dancer :)