The Uncertain Future of Screens and Humans

Our screens have been turned against us. What happens now?

Vlad Dinu
13 min readAug 12, 2018
Phone photo by Photo by Tim Bennett on Unsplash. The weird, tripped-out photoshopping is my doing.

Being born in ’99, I can still somewhat remember a world where the Internet was just becoming mainstream, at least in Romania. Computers were big, clunky, with monstrous flickering screens that would make you feel like your eyes are bleeding after staring at them for long enough. Floppy disks were still a thing, and CD drives were so noisy that you could hear them from 2 floors in either direction.

I’ve been using computers in one form or another for the vast majority of my life. When I was 5 I spent hours learning English while playing “Dragon in a Wagon”, at 10 I started playing World of Warcraft, at 13 I “learned programming” by copy-pasting code from Youtube tutorials of Dark Basic. I went from Pentium 3 PCs to Celeron and i7 laptops. From Windows 95 to Linux (Ubuntu) to macOS.

Throughout the years more and more of my life started to happen in the digital. Now I usually write on my MacBook, read on my Kindle, take notes on my iPad, while my iPhone is always next to me to fulfil my internet browsing urges and entertain my Medium addiction.

But recently my faith in screens has been diminishing. I’ve started writing in a notebook. I am taking notes on paper. I have even contemplated buying real…

--

--

Vlad Dinu

I know nothing, but I'm working to fix that. I study Mathematics @ UCL. Connect with me: dinuvld@hotmail.com