How to visualise business solution through easy-to-use diagram maker

How to quickly create complex business workflows using open source tool Diagrams.net

A why and how-to guide to use diagrams.net for bringing business and technology ideas to realisation

Dishit Devasia
5 min readMay 25, 2020

--

It was last year some time when I stumbled on draw.io (now https://diagrams.net). They changed due to this reason. Being a visual thinker, this tool helped me present my ideas with ease. This article describes what makes Diargrams.net tick and a guide to get started.

Photo by Carl Heyerdahl on Unsplash

Why Diagrams.net

Open-source and available on your web-browser

Yes. It is open-source and it requires no login. I have worked most of my career in enterprise organisations. I have observed that solution designers and architect use Microsoft Visio. The trouble with you had to raise a request to get access, though the organisation may have license. It was a major turn-off for me as I had raise ticket, explain my case to my manager and wait until somebody installs it. In case, the designer shares the visio file itself, I cannot open it unless I have Visio on my machine.

--

--

Dishit Devasia

Software engineer and writer living in Melbourne, Australia