Stop Apple Maps on CarPlay from automatically navigating home

Hugo Jobling
Aug 6, 2021

--

A feature of Apple Maps is that it will try to recommend navigation options proactively. Perhaps some people find this useful, but I find it annoying, since the only destination is ever recommends me is me home, which I rarely, if ever, need directions to find.

Apple Maps on CarPlay

There is no obvious way to stop this, but there is a way. After trying multiple different suggestions from various sources I found the one that works: turn off “”Show Siri Suggestions in App” for Maps. You can do this by opening Settings and navigating to Maps, then Siri & Search, and setting the toggle to “off.”

Visual guide to finding the relevant setting

--

--

Hugo Jobling

Dis*simi*le, n. (Rhet.) Comparison or illustration by contraries.