Drake’s Concert Brought Clarity To Why I’m Still Single.

Real Life Topics Revealed
3 min readFeb 27, 2024

--

Ah ha moment

Photo by Muneeb Syed on Unsplash

There I was all by myself in the higher sections of the stadium looking around at the 17,000+ people that came to see Drake, J Cole and Lil Durk. I’ve been to plenty of concerts by myself but everything about this one felt different, I was somber.

Walking through the crowds, I saw countless people with graphic tees and jeans on. I immediately felt way over dressed in a rhinestone bodysuit with black pleather pants and black biker boots on, f**k it, after all it is my birthday weekend!

I thought I was a Drake fan but these people knew every single song, word for word. Nevertheless, I sat there singing the few songs I did remember. I just couldn’t help but feel out of place. Yet, I was still grateful to be there.

At one point, Drake tells everyone to hug and say something to the person they came with. Since I was alone, I just hugged myself and thanked the money that was pinned on me.

Then I thought about how none of my exes would have wanted to go, could afford to go etc. Not because it was Drake, but because they are who they are. Life was so limited and unsatisfying with them because of their lack mentality, yet they always found a way to get what they wanted.

I thought about how much better my life has been since I have been single. The next thing I thought about is, was my life better because I was single, or is it better because I no longer have those particular men in my life?

Good question.

Drake was good and sounded just like his records. His part of the show had a lot of big props and such to the point I thought it was a little unnecessary, but hey it is a show.

However, J Cole came out and gave me more of the intimacy I was looking for with: Love Yours.

Maybe I was in a reflective mood because I just celebrated another year or maybe it’s because of the long azz wait time it took in between setups.

I have definitely improved my life and everything is so much better now. I’m so proud of me. Now I only surround myself with people that have a can do, make it happen attitude.

Lucky for me, two of my closest family members paid to send me to the concert. Now that’s love. I love acts of kindness and doing something for someone else simply because you know it will make them happy.

I’m eternally grateful for all that I have and I look forward to even more. I’m toasting to more happy birthdays.

Reader, what do you think?

If you enjoyed the read, please consider clapping, following and maybe even buying me a coffee. Thank you. https://www.buymeacoffee.com/RealLifeTopics

--

--

Real Life Topics Revealed

*Highlighting everyday topics that are thought provoking, controversial, and may even be triggering.* https://www.youtube.com/@reallifetopicsrevealed7295