How Travel To-Do Lists Can Make You Happier

Divya Patnaik
2 min readOct 1, 2017

--

Tonight, I am seated in Medellín airport waiting to board my flight to Bogota. I have been in Colombia for a month now, learning and taking in all this country has to offer. I came to Medellín on the first of September to join a group of 22 amazing individuals on an Unsettled coworking retreat. I have met people from all walks of life, from all over the world, all sharing space and time with me. And they have left me feeling inspired.

Being unsettled has taught me to be vulnerable more often. It has shown me that we learn from those we least expect and that stereotypes are made only to be shattered. When I decided to join Unsettled, I had so many desires for myself.

  1. Learn Spanish for 20 hours a week
  2. Figure out my next career move
  3. Find the ideal place for our next home base
  4. Make friends who will last my lifetime
  5. Publish on Medium before returning to Austin

I can say that while I have not learnt as much Spanish as I wanted, I know enough to hail a taxi and order food. I do not have my next job lined up, but I know it has to be with a company that is environment friendly. I am still unclear on where we will live long term, but I know we should spend 6 months in Nuquí. And although I hope that all 22 of my Unsettled mates will stay friends forever, I am confident that there are three that will see me grow old.

As I hit publish on this post, I am grateful that I finally gathered the courage to make my Medium dream come true. To dive into my writing again is a salve for nostalgic wounds. It keeps me from forgetting and helps me romanticize about life’s magic.

And on that note, thank you to my Unsettled friends Taimoor Tariq, Sam and Soley for pushing me to accomplish my final goal.

If you enjoyed this story, please click the 👏 button and share to help others find it! Feel free to leave a comment below.

--

--