Useful Japanese #2: Phrases for When You Forget Something:

dixhom
2 min readMay 9, 2023

--

Photo by Timothy L Brock on Unsplash

Humans are creatures that both learn and forget. Forgetting something in our daily lives is inevitable. In this article, I will introduce some phrases related to forgetting.

Shitsunen 失念

“Shitsunen” is a verb that means “to forget”. 忘れる is usually used for the translation of “to forget”, but there is a big difference between them. The latter gives a lazy and childish impression. Using “Shitsunen” makes your language more adult-like, even though it means exactly the same thing.

Example:
「申し訳ございません、その件に関して、失念いたしまして」
“I’m sorry, but I forgot about that matter.”

Dowasure 度忘れ

“Dowasure” refers to forgetting something that you had remembered until just before and can’t recall. Everyone experiences this from time to time, but it can be used deceitfully to make it seem like you remembered something that you actually forgot. It’s not recommended.

Example:
「お名前なのですが、度忘れしてしまいまして・・・すみません。顔は覚えているのですが」
“I’m sorry, but I forgot your name. I remember your face, though.”

Kioku ni gozaimasen 記憶にございません

“Kioku ni gozaimasen (I don’t remember that)” is a phrase famously used by Kenshi Kobayashi, a key witness in the Lockheed Scandal, considered the largest postwar corruption scandal in Japan. He repeatedly said “Kioku ni gozaimasen” during his testimony at the Diet, and it became a popular phrase that year. It’s a cunning phrase because if you lie in your response and people later know it is a lie, you will face severe questioning. However, since it’s impossible to look into someone’s mind, it’s difficult to refute a claim of not remembering. This is an unfair phrase that politicians can use to dodge criticism or questions without risk. It has been widely used by many politicians.

Muneo Suzuki: “I don’t remember what kind of exchange took place.”
Ryutaro Nonomura: “I don’t remember.” “I don’t recall.”
Yoichi Masuzoe: “I’m not sure if I remember.” “I have no memory of it.”

“Kioku ni gozaimasen” is now widely known as a negative phrase that politicians use to evade responsibility. If you have a heart of stone, you could try using it to dodge someone’s tough questioning, but keep in mind that your credibility would take a hit.

Example:
妻「あなた!浮気したのばれてるんだからね」
Wife: “I know you’re cheating on me.”
夫「記憶にございません」
Husband: “I don’t remember that.”

Personally, I recommend “Shitsunen.” While it may seem silly to simply replace one word with another, Japanese people are sensitive to the nuances of language, and therefore this can be quite effective. Let’s use the Japanese language wisely and live smartly.

--

--

dixhom
0 Followers

Machine learning engineer in Japan. Loves linguistics.