Image originally from EliteGamer: https://elitegamer.co/top-5-game-controllers-time/

Not Another Damn Controller

James McNab
2 min readSep 11, 2017

There’s a control for every electronic. Your TV, Apple TV, speakers, Xbox, PS4, Nintendo Wii, Switch, ChromeCast, Parrot Drone, Nest, Smart Fridge, Samsung Gear, Oculus, Roku, Tesla, Ford, GM, robot vacuum, your dog’s treat dispenser.

Every. Damn. One.

This is my controller. There are many like it but this one is mine.

Oh, and each one is like a snowflake with a UI that’s special and unique its own way. If there’s one simple reason why people spend so much money on Apple is because its the only way many of them can buy technology that’s kinda supposed to work together, or even works kinda sorta like the other things from the same company.

So when my buddy first told me he was making a controller, I thought:

“That’s stupid. I have too many controllers all ready. Why would anyone want to learn how to use another thing. There’s already a ton of game controller companies. WTH are you smoking?”

Then he said:

“It’s a controller to control all the things!”

And I was instantly jealous I hadn’t thought of it.

That was almost 3 years ago.

Now he’s finally launched the product on Kickstarter that I’ve been bugging him everyday for the past 3 years time to let me have a prototype version and start to end the controller hell scape.

The all controller in all its glory and awesomeness

Right now the focus is on gamers and hobbyists but I’m excited to see them keep shipping more and more of the features they have planned.

I just got a couple of drones each with their own controllers which just adds to my mess and tangle of controls and interfaces to learn. Knowing my friend I’m confident they’ll keep making it easier and easier to manage all of your consoles, devices and gadgets.

--

--

James McNab

Design @ forethought. Formerly @ thistle. Side project https://pinstripelabs.com. Former lead UX Instructor @RedAcademy Toronto. OCAD Alum.