A Note for Your Becoming

May Your Potential Become Self One Day

D'Jreya
2 min readMar 23, 2023
Photo by Abdiel Ibarra on Unsplash

I feel like you don't see yourself yet.
You will one day,
for who you actually are,
and not for who you've happened to have been.
And maybe you're still becoming that person,
but I think sometimes other people see it.
or at one time I saw it,
That light in you.
It's incredible.
It's not so bright it hurts to look at,
whilst bright enough that standing next to you warms me.
I think you matter.
I think you don’t know it,
and no one says it enough, but you do.
And I hope whatever you have to go through,
to get to see you,
doesn’t burn out that light.
I hope that when you see you,
you're happy and hungry to see more of yourself.

© D’Jreya Boyd, 2023

--

--

D'Jreya

Writer | Reader of Things | Prose, poems, and articles on reading recommendations. Cure to boredom https://allmylinks.com/djreyathewriter