My (re-)commitment to sharing

Dmitro Khroma
2 min readDec 24, 2023

--

I have been creating and building for all of my life. From little product designs in school, to starting a society at Univeristy, to building food-handling robots in Cambridge. For the last 7 years I’ve been working on my biggest project yet — Swytchbike.com- designing both the eBike Conversion Kit products and building the company and brand around it.

My professional life has been a roller-coaster. I have made countless mistakes, saved the business from the brink of failure and hit some unthinkable successes along the way. Through all these incredible experiences I have learned many lessons directly and through stories and wisdom from others.

In-between all the intensity I have had a few small opportunities to share already. Experiences such as talking to young scholars at the Royal Academy of Engineering and making behind-the-scenes videos of my manufacturing trips to China. When I’ve done this I light up with energy and I get positive feedback from people interested in what I do. I can see the value in sharing.

I want to share these stories and what I learned from them for the following reasons:

  • I want to distil the themes and learnings into manageable chunks that myself and others can use.
  • I want to solidify my own understanding through teaching others.
  • I want to give back to the community of story-tellers and educators who gave me so many great lessons throughout my journey.

I have already tried this multiple times before. I’ve tried writing articles and sharing videos but there has never been enough depth and consistency. For the past 2 years my biggest barriers have been stress, time and energy. I may have a few more false starts, but I hope that I can get into a rhythm and integrate this practise into my identify in a way that finally sticks. Bare with me!

--

--