The Most Important Letter In the Alphabet: Why

Dave Lawson
3 min readFeb 14, 2019

I had my earbuds in, volume up, and my mind was wondering. I wasn’t sure why but I wasn’t paying attention to the podcast anymore, and the podcast was taking place right in front of me…live!

One of the services we provide at Digital Legend Media is full podcast production, from concept to publishing. One of the greatest honors of my career is to document the story of a former Las Vegas star. Without mentioning his name (podcast is still building initial episodes), I will say he was a “big deal.” Really “big deal.”

Think of anyone back in the rat pack days and this guy knew them, and knew them well.

I was so excited that he wanted to document his life and I was excited we were the ones to do it. The first couple episodes (the demo and episode 1) were fantastic. Full of funny stories and loose conversation with a purpose. I thought the podcast was going to be an instant hit. Today, though, I got a little nervous.

Today, before the podcast began, one of my favorite guys in the world whipped out detailed notes. Notes that he read verbatim as the podcast started. Instead of a former Las Vegas celeb spinning yarn about the good ‘ol days, it now sounded like a book report.

I decided to let him finish the podcast before having a chat.

I wanted to talk to him about letting us in, so I did.

He wasn’t sure what that meant. So I explained that the listener (or in your case the viewer or reader) has a huge desire to share not just your facts and advice, but your soul.

I’m talking feelings, baby!

You want to hold an audience? Let them in.

But — he’s 85, and like my dad (who passed 3 years ago), he has a hard time sharing his feelings…ever. It’s typical of that generation.

So I threw a word out that started drilling down to what I was looking for.

One word. And this word is effective in ANY situation.

“Why?”

That’s it. When anyone tells you a story about anything, the best follow up to get their true feelings about the story is “why?”

“You mentioned that you immediately took a job to perform in Vegas which means you would have to leave France. Why? Why did you take that job?”

Follow up questions: “What were you feeling — what was bubbling up inside when you made that decision?”

Follow up: “Why?” “Why did you feel scared?”

Do you see where I’m going? To get the best out of a guest, or even yourself, a simple why does the trick.

Let’s say you’re writing about a new product that arrived at your store. Why are you carrying that particular product at your store? Why do you love it so much? Why do you think it will help so many people?

“A person’s name is to him or her the sweetest and most important sound in any language.” — Dale Carnegie.

That’s true, and the second most important sound is “why.” It gives them a platform for telling you who they are. Use it.

--

--

Dave Lawson

Director of Content Operations for Digital Legend Media, helping small businesses find and share their message through digital media. www.digitallegendmedia.com