My Core Principle

DL Young
2 min readDec 14, 2023
Photo by Mak Flex on Unsplash

Is it useful?

Above all else, this is what underlies my every action and belief I have. I apply this question to everything. Whether it’s my thoughts, ideas or resources. Is it useful?

Yes = keep it

No = throw away

When a thought or belief comes to me, I wonder if it serves me in anyway. Regardless if it’s correct or not, if it’s useful for me to believe it then it remains with me.

For example, it’s not correct to think that every gun is loaded. But if you do so then you have caution enough to prevent anything severe.

Applying this to an idea and belief means I’m only believing things that actually help me in my life. Some thoughts and ideas can generate self-inflicted limitations.

Whether you think you can or you think you can’t, you’re right.- Henry Ford

This quote sum up the philosophy of thought becoming power. Possibilities can be thrusted or contained by our mentality.

The latin cogito, ergo sum means “I think, therefore I am.”

It is the first principle of René Descartes’ philosophy.

‘first principle’ is a basic central concept or assumption that cannot be deduced from any other proposition or assumption

--

--

DL Young

The Place For Thought Experiments .A lover of storytelling. Learning about creativity and human behaviour.