Welcome to the new D-MER blog!

d-mer.org
3 min readSep 9, 2017

--

Greetings! I am Alia Macrina Heise. I am an International Board Certified Lactation Consultant, the creator of d-mer.org and I am also the mother and lactation professional that gave Dysphoric Milk Ejection reflex it’s name in 2007. I have been writing, speaking and educating about the milk ejection anomaly ever since.

About ten years ago I started the first D-MER when I was first beginning to understand and investigate D-MER. That blog is now closed, as so much of it was a clumsy play-by-play of the guessing and surmising that was so common in the early days of D-MER.

The evidence base for D-MER is still limited, but because of all of the mothers that have shared their experiences and stories, there is now plenty of anecdotal information that show strong trends, giving mothers more knowledge and hope.

This blog will serve as a place to share new information about D-MER, a place for commonly asked questions to be answered, and a place where mothers will have a chance to submit and share their own stories.

I have joined forces with another D-MER mother, Hilah, who is helping me manage the blog and collect submissions from other authors to be posted once or twice a month. I also plan to contribute on a monthly basis with posts that will help extend the understanding about D-MER. Mothers often ask questions such as, “is is normal to feel D-MER in pregnancy?”, “will I have certainly have D-MER with my next child, too?”, and “why does pumping make D-MER worse?”. I hope to be able to address these kinds of concerns in more depth with my contributions.

I encourage you to become a member of the two Facebook pages I manage: The D-MER Support Group and Alia Macrina, IBCLC, as I will be asking there for post ideas and suggestions as we begin this new journey together.

Also, for those that have not yet heard, the very first book about D-MER is scheduled to be released (in e-book format) by the end of 2017. Stay connected with us for further announcements about that release! It is my goal, that with the growing platforms of D-MER information and knowledge, more awareness and research will result.

Thank you to all the D-MER mothers for being on this journey with me. Your bravery and fortitude shown through breastfeeding with D-MER is commendable and I want to let you know that I see you and know your struggle.

Though I know that I have written primarily to the breastfeeding mother, I have not forgotten about the support people involved: family members, partners and health care professionals included. It is my hope that the content of this blog will help and support those care givers, as well. Outside people often have just as many questions and concerns as mothers with D-MER do, and posts written with those in outside roles will be included as time goes on.

If you or someone you know has D-MER and would be willing to share your story on the blog (can be anonymous or not) please email Hilah at DMERblog@gmail.com. Stories from mothers, health professionals and support people are all welcome.

Hugs to you all,

Alia

--

--

d-mer.org

A breastfeeding woman who has D-MER experiences a brief dysphoria just prior to the milk ejection reflex.