Critical Making

Vertical Storage

Proposal for my final parametric design project

Dave M Laskowski II
3 min readApr 27, 2020

Overview

This past semester I have explored how to leverage parametric parameters in product design. I have looked at packaging, architecture, shoes, and industrial design ideation. I also explored different outputs of production; vinyl plotter, 3D printing, CNC milling, and offset printing. One pattern that has resonated with me has been the hexagon. I think my fascination with the shape stems from childhood and bees/wasps nests.

Finding a problem to solve

The timing of our final project proposals and the COVID-19 shelter in place ordinance mandate by Boulder County, has help inform my idea. The other major influence is my self-imposed lens of looking at products that have been designed or informed by parametric parameters. Much of what can be found on the internet is architecture and art/projects that look cool. While these things have influenced me and sometime left me scrathing my head as to “how did they do that?” I was able to find products utilizing this powerful and robust tool.

A peg board hung on wall with several object hanging on it. A desk lamps light is casting light and a shadow on the board.
My Ikea pegboard in use 📷:Me

With remote learning my new reality and millions working from home, I focused on the home office. My own home office is also my bedroom, living room and cafe. I am currently living in CU Boulder graduate student housing in a cozy studio apartment. With space at a premium I have been mastering the art of vertical storage. My desk is a built-in and while it is long it is not very wide. To help with the limited surface space I installed (I used 3M velcro strips) Ikea peg boards along the wall. This has allowed for surface area to sketch, collage, and make piles (its apparently part of my creative process).

A gray Copic marker above a black Prismacolor marker, both with the lids off of both ends
Copic and Prismacolor markers with caps off showing the two tips 📷:Me

Sketching markers are not cheap, and storing them at arms reach has its own set of special needs. I have two brands of these blendable wonders, Copic (gray scale) and Prismacolor (colors). For my UX classes I have been using the Copic markers as everything is limited to four shades of gray. In addition to smoothly blending together each marker has two different brush/marker heads. This means the need to be stored horizontally.

Two photos, the left photo is a hexagon shaped coffee pod holder on a wall. The right is a warped hexagon pen holder.
📷: Left: ARALANA 📷: Right: BEEVERYCREATIVE

Task & Deliverables

My task is to create a modular horizontal marker holder to be hung/fastened to my pegboard.

A 3D printable modular marker holder that can be hung to a peg board.

--

--