Project 2: Motion Iteration

Delanie Ricketts
3 min readApr 3, 2017

--

After receiving in-class feedback on March 22nd, I went ahead and updated some of my animations for specific letters — s, i, and n. Below are the original animations with the updated versions below.

I updated the “s” animation to use the CC Ball Action effect rather than the scatterize effect, and changed the color to a more visible off-white in order to more clearly represent the balls inside of a shaker, since a shaker is what creates the sound that is played when this letter is triggered.

Using the “CC Ball Action” effect to revise my “s” animation.

I also updated the “i” animation such that the ripple effect would play at a higher speed and with less ripples, more akin to how fast a bass string actually moves once plucked.

Finally, I updated the “n” animation so that its motion would be more replicable over the course of the audio clip, rather than distorting significantly towards the end.

After making updates to initial animations I created, which represent what happens when each letter is triggered independently, I created an additional six animations to represent what happens when a letter plays in tandem with another letter.

For the “d” animation, played with other letters, I added a “repeater” to the two vertical line animations and adjusted their positions.

Here I’ve added “repeaters” to the vertical line animations to create an abstract rain effect.

For the “e” animation, played with other letters, I added a subtle noise effect to the background solid.

I’ve added the noise effect to the solid layer and keyframed it to occur when the clap occurs in the audio file. It fades away through to the end of the composition.

For the “s” animation, I simply duplicated the layer with the “CC Ball Action” effect and lowered the opacity when the “s” is in an upright position and drastically increased the “scatter” value for when the “s” is in a downward position. In this way, I created an explosion effect for when the shaker is shaker in the audio file.

I manually adjusted the opacity and scatter values for every key frame such that the balls fade away when the “s” is in an upright position but explode on the downbeat.

For the “i” animation I duplicated the “i” layer and increased the scale significantly such that the “i” shaped took up the entire height of the composition. I then played with the twist effect to achieve the look of a boombox speaker. Finally, I adjusted the twist angle values and used the wiggler to randomly change the rotation of the twist to make it look as if it it was rippling out in time with the bass note.

In this animation, I used the wiggler to randomly change the twist angle values.

For the “g” animation, I inserted a light to create the effect of a spotlight, shining on and off the letter when not twisting in time with its associated audio file by changing its position.

For the “g” animation, I created a light and changed its position.

Finally, for the “n” animation, I duplication the “n” layer and added a camera lens blur to have a soft light effect. I then changed the position of this duplicated layer.

The blue path above shows the overall position changes in the duplicated layer.

All together, the animations combine to form the video demo below (in this case, the animations have not been triggered directly on the beat).

--

--