Here are 14 things I’ve never heard a successful game developer say…

Daniel Doan
2 min readFeb 8, 2018

--

1. “I wish I would have spent more time doing everything myself.”

2. “Spending three months to write out our game design document before actually starting to do anything was the best decision I ever made.”

3. “Our studio’s mission statement was critical to our success.”

4. “My success was entirely based on a couple of mentions of my game on Rock Paper Shotgun and PC Gamer.”

5. “I learned everything I needed to know about game development by reading posts on Facebook.”

6. “Those debates with my team about our studio’s name, logo, and design colors were critical to our success.”

7. “The decision of whether to form an LLC or an S-Corp was pivotal to my game’s success.”

8. “Thanks to a trademark that we filed, we never had a serious competitor.”

9. “I wish I spent less time talking to players before writing code.”

10. “Our most effective marketing campaigns were the ones that had the most marketing buzzwords.”

11. “My lack of an MBA made it very difficult for me to make any money with game development.”

12. “I made this game for myself, and it just so happened that millions of people wanted it as well.”

13. “The NDA that I make everyone sign before talking to me really helped keep my precious game idea safe.”

14. “My two business partners blew all of our crowd-funding money on booze and strippers.”

Let’s collect more in the comments below!

If you enjoyed reading this post, it’d be amazing if you could share this so that others can find it as well.

About The Author

Daniel is a growth marketer and co-founder of Black Shell Media. He’s also the developer behind SanctuaryRPG and Overture, among dozens of prototypes. You can connect with him on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn and Instagram or drop him a line at daniel@blackshellmedia.com.

If you’d like to steal his digital marketing or game development knowledge, you can learn more about him here.

--

--