10 best bark collar 2018

Dog Dogbha
15 min readOct 22, 2018

--

1. SportDOG Brand NoBark Rechargeable Collars

The SportDog Brand NoBark Rechargeable Collar is one of the best static shock bark collars due to its unique way of filtering out false corrections. See, this collar uses their Silent Partner technology to determine your dog’s signature barking style.

In doing so, it gets rid of any instance of the collar reacting to a non-barking noise. I find this extremely essential because I live in a highly populated dog area and don’t want my bark collar to punish my dog for another dog’s barking.

Additionally, this bark collar gives me a ton of choices with its three training modes and the ten levels of static simulation. In doing so, it gives me a comfortable amount of control over the training experience.

As a control freak, this sense of control is necessary for any bark collar I intend on purchasing. Another aspect I find comforting is this bark collar’s waterproof; therefore, I know this will get through a rainstorm without any malfunction.

More importantly, this bark collar’s ability to last for 200 hours a charge is something very beneficial for me. See, I’m the forgetful type and would need a static shock bark collar with a long-lasting charge.

However, the price is very steep and not in the range I would be able to afford. In fact, this product will be the most expensive on the list. And I’m not interested in paying top-dollar for a product I’m at max going to be using for a couple of months.

Furthermore, I still don’t feel comfortable with the shocking aspect of these collars. It’s just not something I’m comfortable putting my dog through. But if you’re okay with the shock aspect, this collar is a high-quality choice.

Things We Liked

  • Waterproof
  • Ten adjustable levels of stimulation
  • Stays charged for 200 hours
  • Three training modes
  • Filters out false corrections

Things We Didn’t Like

  • Most expensive collar on this list
  • Uses a shock

Regardless of how I feel personally about using shocks, the SportDog Brand NoBark Rechargeable Collar is a high-quality, expensive product entirely worth considering. It’s top of the class within the static shock collarmarket.

2. PetSafe Basic Bark Control Collar for Dogs

The PetSafe Basic Bark Control Collar is another static shock bark collar with six levels of static correction. Now, I know it’s not as extensive as the ten levels offered by the collar above, however, it comes at less than half the price.

I can confidently say I’m okay with losing four levels of static correction and keeping my bank account from being emptied. Also, this product is waterproof another benefit for people like me who live in moist environments.

Plus, this collar finds the absolute right correction level all by itself. When the barking starts, the shock will begin with the lowest level and creep it’s way up until the barking stops.

With this feature, there’s no need for you to hunt and peak for the right level. This collar does all that nauseating work for you. And don’t worry, no matter what the shock will stop after fifty seconds because this collar has an automatic safety shut off.

Additionally, this collar is adjustable to fit any neck size up to 28in and is appropriate for all dogs over eight pounds. As a person who loves convenience, this collar seems like a great fit for me.

But again, the use of shock is a no go for me. And the collar will only work with batteries specifically made PetSafe. Honestly, I get it from a manufactures point of view, but it’s incredibly annoying.

Things We Liked

  • Great Price
  • Six levels of static correction
  • Waterproof
  • Finds the correct level by itself
  • Fits any dog with up to 28in neck size
  • Useable on any dog over 8 pounds

Things We Didn’t Like

  • You’re shocking your dog
  • Only works with the batteries provided by PetSafe

By in large, this product is a bargain for the price it cost. It has a lot of useful features and is adjustable to almost any circumstances. However, the use of a shock and the PetSafe batteries make this product a non-buy for me.

3. Dog Bark Collar Upgrade 2018

The Dog Bark Collar Upgrade 2018 is the first vibration bark collar in this article. With seven customizable vibration levels, this collar will not react to other dogs barking.

This feature is essential for me given almost every neighbor I have has a dog. In fact, most of my dog’s barks are in response to the other barking dogs. Plus, with no shock, no harm comes to my dog.

Otherwise, this collar has the standard feature you’d find in the two static shock bark collars above: waterproof, adjustable straps, additional batteries, etc. It’s a pretty standard product that comes at an affordable price.

And the manufacturer is willing to stand behind their collar evident in them offering a 1-year warranty to their customers. This kind of offer is always a good sign that the product is high quality, given if it wasn’t, they’d lose a lot of money with this offer.

But there are some drawbacks. The vibration sound is a very high-pitched buzz that can be very annoying to a person. If you have sensitive ears, this might not be the product for you.

Also, some dogs have been known to enjoy the sound and bark more because of this collar; ideally, not what you’re looking for in a bark collar. However, given the type of bark collar this product is, this didn’t surprise me. Honestly, vibration bark collars are hit and miss most of the time.

Things We Liked

  • Seven customizable vibration levels
  • Waterproof
  • Affordable price
  • 1-year warranty
  • Useable on any dog weighing between 11 and 110 pounds
  • No harm comes to your dog

Things We Didn’t Like

  • Very high pitched annoying buzz
  • Some dogs like the sound

Due to the variety of useful features and affordable price, this bark collar is one I’d consider buying. It has everything I could want in a bark collar, but I’m a little weary about the high-pitched buzz the vibration makes.

Also, the fact some dogs bark more in response isn’t something you’d like to see with a no bark collar. But since this is a vibration collar and their effectiveness tends to vary from dog to dog, I think I’m going to give it a shot.

4. Bark Collar [New Version]

The simply named Bark Collar [New Version] is another vibration bark collar. And it has what’d you expect from a one: adjustable collar, being waterproof, 30-day guarantee, etc.

In other words, it’s everything you’d expect from a vibration bark collar. It’s a solid, run of mill product that will meet your expectations. In a market filled with low-quality items, this collar is a welcome change.

Furthermore, it’s refreshing to see a company back its product with a warranty, even a 30 day one. And reviews of the product seem to convey the customer service was very helpful.

Even with all great features, it’s a little off-putting that there’s only one vibration level. But it seems the collar can effectively do its job without all the unique customizable levels you see on other models.

However, I’d still put this on the con side due to the fact I have a hard time believing what works in one dog’s environment works in everyone’s. And my assumptions were correct, as this collar has a habit of being trigger by other dog’s barking.

If I lived in a more isolated area, I’d put this bark collar on the top of my list. As it does have everything I’m looking for, but I’m afraid it’s not feasible with the number of barking dogs around my home.

Things We Liked

  • Affordable price
  • No shock bark collar
  • Adjustable collar
  • 30 day back guarantee
  • Waterproof

Things We Didn’t Like

  • Only one vibration level
  • Vibration triggered by other barking dogs

Due to the dense dog population around my home, this product is something I can’t waste my money purchasing. Even at its affordable price, I don’t want to go back on Amazon and find another quality bark collar in a week. I want the first one I buy to stick.

But if you live out in the woods or away from other dogs, this product is one worth considering. It’s a great, easy product that will make your life much less annoying by keeping your dog from unwanted barking.

5. PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Collar for Dogs

Our first spray bark collar on the list, The PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Collar uses a citronella spray to curb your dog’s barking habits. It’s a very humane and great alternative to the static shock collar.

Concerning this particular one, the 300 to 400 sprays per can is something I find very valuable. I’m the type of person who hates changing parts in mechanical things; therefore, with this amount of sprays, I wouldn’t have to do what I hate very often.

Naturally, I love the fact it’s harmless to my dog. Nothing is more important than avoiding any harm to my dog, and this collar accomplishes that goal. Due to this, it’s a product that’s worthy of my consideration.

But it’s not entirely waterproof. And I need a waterproof collar due to the area I live in. It’s non-stop downpours around here. For this product to work here, I’d have to confine my dog inside, and that’s not happening.

In fact, it’s essential because my dog likes the water regardless. He loves swimming in pools, lakes, or wherever he takes a nice dip. In the end, I’m not going to buy a product that stops him from doing what he loves.

Plus, this product is known to uncontrollable spray in certain environments. With my non-stop rainy, barking dogs environment, I can confidently say this product isn’t a good fit.

Things We Liked

  • 300–400 sprays per can
  • Replaceable batteries
  • Harmless
  • Useable on all dogs over six pounds and have a neck size under 24in
  • No shock bark collar

Things We Didn’t Like

  • Only water-resistant
  • Uncontrollable sprays in certain environments

Sometimes, you have to accept some products aren’t meant for you. The PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Collar represents one of those times for me. It just doesn’t fit my dog’s circumstances in a way I feel comfortable.

Now, you might feel completely different, and that’s okay. On a product level, there’s nothing necessarily deficient about this product. It’s just not right for my particular dog’s needs.

6. Petown Newest 2018 Version Flashing Lights Bark Collar

The Petown Newest 2018 Version Flashing Lights Bark Collar has a unique feature that caught my eye, flashing LED lights. I happen to love walking my dog at night because it’s much cooler out.

But, it can be quite dangerous due to the populated roads around my home. These flashing lights would make this a much more manageable event for my dog and me. Of course, this would only be for a short period of time, but it’s cool nonetheless.

Besides the flashing lights, this collar has three training modes (beep, vibration, and shock) that allow you can use. These training modes will enable you to avoid using a shock altogether. It’s merely an option on this model rather the method.

As you can guess, this ability to avoid the shock is something I love. Plus, the four adjustable levels allow for an adjustment of the shock or vibration to the level you see fit.

Most importantly, it’s waterproof. Okay, this isn’t the most critical feature, but it allows my dog to explore his favorite place, the swimming pool.

Honestly, this collar’s only downside is the fact it has a shock feature. It encourages the use of negative shock reinforcement, but I can look past that with this price and features.

Things We Liked

  • Three training modes
  • Four adjustable levels
  • For dogs ranging from 9 to 120 pounds
  • Has flashing LED lights for safe night travel
  • Waterproof
  • Don’t have to use a shock

Things We Didn’t Like

  • Does have a shock feature

Without a doubt, the Petown Newest 2018 Version Flashing Lights Bark Collar is so far my favorite. It has everything I could ask for without being grossly over-priced or require the use of a feature I don’t believe in using.

Also, the flashing lights are just an excellent add-on for my particular dog. He loves walking around in cool night air. This add-on will make these trips done the high-populated roads a lot safer for both my dog and me.

7. POP VIEW Bark Collar [2018 Upgrade Version]

While not being the most unique product on this list, the Pop View Bark Collar is a solid version of a static shock collar. For example, it has seven adjustable shock levels you can set to your preference.

These seven adjustable levels give the owners a sense of control over the training experience; great for a person like me who values being able to control every aspect of their pet’s life.

But just like the Petown product above, it has three training modes that allow you to avoid using the shock feature. In fact, this model even has a sound option enabling it to function as an ultrasonic bark collar.

All these choices move this collar towards the top of my list. Plus, it’s waterproof and has a money back guarantee. Both of these things are something I value when looking to buy any dog-related product.

Unfortunately, this model falls below the Petown collar for a simple reason; its shock/vibration/ sound will respond to other dogs barking. As you know, this drawback isn’t something that will mesh with my dog’s training experience.

It’s a shame because this product is a high-quality bark collar that is well worth its asking price. In reality, Pop View did a great job creating a top of line bark collar just not for someone in my current circumstances.

Things We Liked

  • Fits all dogs from 6 to 120 pounds
  • Seven adjustable levels of sensitivity
  • Three training modes
  • Waterproof
  • Money back guarantee
  • Don’t have to use the shock

Things We Didn’t Like

  • Has a shock feature
  • Shock/vibration responds to other sounds

Pop View’s attempt at making a top end bark collar for an affordable price was a successful one, but the uncertain regarding it responding to other dog’s barks is too much of risk for me.

If you’re not worried about other dog’s barks, buy this collar immediately. You won’t regret it. It will make your dog’s needless barks go away quickly.

8. Barklo Small Dog Bark Collar

The Barklo Small Dog Bark Collar is another strictly vibration device that uses a progression correction stimulus to help deter your dog’s barking. In doing so, it makes sure no harm will come to your dog when using this collar.

Naturally, this harmless aspect of this collar is something I love entirely. Also, I like that the company put its focus towards smaller dogs with this collar. Often, small breed owners worry about the effect bark collars will have on their dogs.

By focusing their attention toward a specific dog owner community, Barklo has made it a lot easier for these owners to accept a bark as a viable option. It promotes a sense of comfort.

Along the same lines, Barklo didn’t use this to their advantage and hike up the price. Honestly, they could have easily done this and made a considerable profit. By not doing so, it shows their commitment toward these group of dog owners.

Concerning the product, Barklo made sure to cover all the bases; it’s waterproof, rechargeable, adjustable collar, etc. It’s precisely what you’d expect from a vibration collar just it caters to smaller breeds.

However, catering to smaller breeds didn’t get rid of the faults many vibration collars have concerning their effectiveness. Some dogs won’t respond to the vibration because it doesn’t have a significant enough impact.

In these cases, the vibration is an annoyance rather than a punishment. Some dogs shrug off the vibration or even like the feeling and start to bark more.

Furthermore, this collar is known to pick up other noises as barks. Even if my dog weren’t’ too big for this collar, that would make this a no buy for me.

Things We Liked

  • No shock bark collar
  • Best bark collar for small dogs
  • Waterproof
  • Rechargeable
  • Great Price
  • Harmless

Things We Didn’t Like

  • Isn’t effective for some dogs
  • Tends to pick up other noises as barks

Overall, the Barklo is a nice attempt at appealing to an untapped customer base in the bark collar market. However, it doesn’t fix any the flaws vibration bark collars face making it relatively unsuccessful.

9. Lovatic Anti Bark Collar

The Lovatic Anti Bark Collar avoids using the shock feature through having seven adjustable levels of vibration and sound. In doing so, Lovatic allows you to pick whether you want a vibration or sound as your dog’s bark disruptor.

This choice is a nice feature to have because it allows you to choose between having an ultrasonic or vibration bark collar essentially. You’d get two types of bark collar in one product.

More importantly, there’s an electronic control chip that ensures the collar only responds to the sound of your dog’s barking. I find it refreshing to have insurance the collar won’t activate because of other barking dogs.

As seen in some of the products above, this sense of insurance isn’t common among either vibration or ultrasonic bark collars. Lovatic made sure it tackled one of the most significant flaws these barks collars lack the effectiveness of a static shock bark collar.

One thing they didn’t fix is the vibration or sound won’t work for every dog. Neither pack enough of a punch to discourage some dogs from barking. Due to this, if your dog’s stubborn, buying this collar could be a waste of money,

Also, there have been many issues on the customer service side from Lovatic. It seems nobody can get a hold of this company to voice their complaints about the collar not stopping their dog’s barking.

It’s an awful look for a company that did fix one of the main issues with main vibration or sound collars.

Things We Liked

  • No shock bark collar
  • Seven adjustable levels of sound and vibration
  • Fits any dog from 15 to 110 pounds
  • Electric control chip makes sure it only respond to your dog’s barking
  • Harmless

Things We Didn’t Like

  • Some dogs don’t respond to the sounds
  • Bad customer service

While this bark collar had some neat features, it fails in a critical area, satisfying the customer. It’s a definite no buy for me because of the flaws this product contains. Honestly, it isn’t worth the hassle.

10. Dog Barking Collar For Small Medium And Large Dogs

Our last bark collar in our list is the Dog Barking Collar. Just like other products in this article, this collar uses a progression correction stimulus to help curb your dog’s barking through the use of vibration.

The factor separating this product form the other vibration-based models is the fantastic price. It’s easily the least expensive item on this list, and it doesn’t lack the features you’d expect from a lower price model.

I think this product is an attempt at making the most cost-efficient bark collar possible. In this regard, they did succeed in one aspect, the design. It’s incredibly durable for a bark collar. You’d be hard-pressed to break this item.

Also, I like how they single out smaller dogs as the best option for their product. This helps a demographic that feels uncomfortable using these types of products feel like a company is trying to help create a product for them.

But in their attempt to create the most cost-efficient product possible, they didn’t fix the issue of certain dogs not responding. In fact, they made it even worse with various account saying the vibration wasn’t strong enough.

Maybe the issue with the strength is why they singled out smaller dogs? If this is the case, it’s most likely a good option for small dog breed owners. At this price, why not try it out and find out?

Things We Liked

  • No shock bark collar
  • Amazing price
  • Progression correction stimulus
  • Design made from durable plastic
  • Great for smaller breeds (over 8 pounds)

Things We Didn’t Like

  • Some dogs don’t respond
  • Issues with the strength of vibration

For me, there’s no way I’d consider buying this collar for my large dog. It doesn’t have enough power to give my particular dog the deterrent he needs. Honestly, he’d probably smile and start barking at a more frequent rate.

But if you’re a small dog breed owner, give it a shot. If I had a smaller dog, I wouldn’t’ hesitate to try it out myself with its fantastic price.

In the following sections, you will find the answers to all your questions about bark collar reviews. From how they work to the pros/cons of each type, these sections will help you make a responsible choice about buying one.

Read more to know how to choose best bark collar at here

Connect my social:

Facebook

Google plus

Twitter

Behance

DeviantArt

Diigo

Flickr

Gab

Goodreads

Instapaper

Minds

Pinterest

Linkedin

Tumblr

VK

Blogspot

Medium

--

--