Two Words: Behavioral Euthanasia

Mandy Walker
8 min readMar 3, 2020

Let’s get real for a minute. Behavioral Euthanasia is a thing. It happens every day.
Not because we don’t love our pets. But because some pets just can’t face this world and overcome their emotional scars.

This is a very controversial topic. This elephant, sitting quietly in the room, deserves a conversation. So let’s get to it!

Nelson: I’m sorry this world was too big for you. (Photo Courtesy of Author)

(I will note some things I say may sound like I’m making light of this situation. I am not. They are simply coping mechanisms I have developed. This is a very personal topic for me.)

What is Behavioral Euthanasia?

This is when a pet parent or caretaker is forced to make the choice to euthanize a seemly healthy dog due to behavior issues that can’t be resolved.

Why Would You KILL Your Dog?

Working as a professional dog trainer and rescue director, I have seen every behavior imaginable. But when I started on my venture to where I am today I had a very closed mind on this topic.

Having, at that time, the mindset that “all dogs can be saved!” I would read posts on social media about someone putting down their dog for killing another animal or lunging and biting people. And my first thought was “but you could have done more!” Or “you could have re-homed

--

--

Mandy Walker

CPDT-KA Certified Dog Trainer| Dog Groomer| Rescuer| All-around Dog Nerd| Lupus Warrior| Coffee Snob| Beer Conniseur| mandytrainsdogs2020@gmail.com