Diving into Data Science

dolapo badru
2 min readDec 9, 2018

--

This year has been quite a very interesting one for me, with regards to personal development and pushing my limits.

Before the year 2018, I had little information about Data science or Artificial intelligence which is a growing wave in the computer technology industry. I had taken some courses over the years but none quite captivated me the way AI did and I have my very good friend to thank for that, Sadiq Aderinto. He was a member of AISaturday’s Lagos and he encouraged me to join the group.

AI Saturdays is a Group of very committed and Intelligent individuals that are passionate about Artificial Intelligence, Machine and Deep Learning and run classes teaching beginners about the basics and all the technical aspect of Machine Learning for 16 Saturdays. The classes were really explanatory and I gained a lot of Knowledge over this period which recently ended.

To improve my Knowledge and understanding, I’ve been taking some online courses on MOOC’s like Edx, where I took the Introduction to Python for Data Science course, I am also taking Machine Learning on Coursera by Andrew Ng and also a Deep learning Scholarship on Udacity.

I have also participated in some competitions to test my ability and how much I need to improve to be World Class in this particular field, most notably the Data Science Nigeria Inter Campus Machine Learning Competition and the AI Saturday’s Hackathon in which I did reasonably well at both these competitions.

There will be a lot more I am going to do to improve on my skill set and test my abilities, one of which is to follow and complete Siraj Raval’s three-month Data Science Curriculum and take on more data science Projects and Competitions.

Up to this point, it has been a very interesting and challenging path and I’m pretty much excited for the Future and its numerous opportunities and Potentials.

The Future is all about Data and AI . and I’m ready to be a part of it.

--

--