Disappointment

Poem for my twin flame runner, or whatever this is

Dolores Darkmatter
1 min readMay 27, 2023
Image created with Midjourney by author.

Here I go again, getting my hopes up
And there you go again,
A shining bright light
Of absence

Disappointed
As I danced through the night
with friends by my side
in alcohol-induced fairy tales
Sadness held a steady grip
On my inner core

Cause you weren’t there
You
Weren’t
There
What did I expect?
Why did I expect you to be?

Disillusion is the suit I wear
When nobody is looking

As I smiled and laughed
Hugged and talked and swayed
There was a shadow inside me
Cast by the barrier between us
Growing steadily as you escape
My reality

I need to understand
That you are not the light inside me
I am my own illumination
And the shadow is
the feeling of my own
Inadequacy

The morning sun
Warms my cheek
I suppose I should let it melt my
Disappointment
I suppose I should replace it with
Acceptance

Cause you weren’t there
And you aren’t here
Anymore

--

--

Dolores Darkmatter

This is me, writing about feelings and stuff, while my soul is on a tea-break with dark matter and curiosity. Something good might come out of it.