This is why we belong together

--

By: Andrea Cristina Mercado, Campaign Director at National Domestic Workers Alliance

Immigrant women celebrate anniversary of 100 Women, 100 Mile Pilgrimage by marching from the Supreme Court to the White House. Photo Credit: Steve Pavey, Hope in Focus.

At the age of 21, my grandmother suddenly found herself widowed, and left with a toddler and newborn to support on her own. She made a difficult choice to leave everything she knew and loved behind in Argentina and work as a live-in nanny and housekeeper in the United States. Years passed before my mother joined her here.

My grandmother’s sacrifice has shaped my family, and the opportunities her children and grandchildren have had. My mom raised me to believe that I belong here, and that we, as a family, belong together. I have dedicated my life to advocating for labor protections and immigration policies that benefit women like my grandmother, who make the difficult choice to leave their families, come to this nation and do the important work of caring for others.

Throughout history, domestic work has been dismissed and demeaned, most recently by Donald Trump, whose rhetoric is another glaring example of the sexism and racism plaguing our elections. In calling Alicia Machado “Miss Housekeeping” as an insult, Trump denigrated the work and inherent dignity of millions of immigrant women and women of color — women like my grandmother. This week’s Vice-Presidential debate played on tired tropes that criminalize communities of color and blame immigrants for low wages. Trump’s comments, and that of his running mate, highlight a lack of understanding of the realities and contributions of immigrant communities and domestic workers.

Last year, I organized the 100 Women 100 Mile Pilgrimage for migrant dignity. Photo Credit: Steve Pavey, Hope in Focus.

More importantly, these narratives distract from issues that really concern our country and our families. The mass incarceration and punishment of people of color has had devastating consequences, and has shaped our extremely punitive immigration policies. Young people of color, and low-income individuals, are far more likely to be targeted and arrested, and have a criminal record. The last eight years have been a painful time for immigrant communities in the United States as ruthless deportation policies have separated families and imprisoned refugees, including mothers and children fleeing violence, without consideration for their futures. Our hopes for immigration reform have been crushed over and over again.

Meanwhile, the future of our country fundamentally relies on the work of women like my grandmother. Domestic workers raise our kids, take care of our elders, and make a significant contribution to the economy and well-being of a nation that is rapidly aging. In 2007, after years of local organizing, I co-founded the National Domestic Workers Alliance, an organizing and policy center that believes domestic work, whether it is cleaning someone’s home, or taking care of a family’s loved ones, is worthy of respect and protection. Domestic workers have been reclaiming this work with pride, organizing to pass Domestic Worker Bill of Rights legislation in seven states in less than ten years and impacting federal policy.

I am not ashamed of the work my grandmother did to support our family. On the contrary, I celebrate it and vote to protect the labor, dignity, and rights of my community. Like me, one in four Americans today have an immigrant parent, and we will not stand by as our families are demonized. We want politicians to hear us when we say that we are deeply tied to our communities and we vote.

Three generations of my family stand alongside my grandmother.

My grandmother had dreams for herself and her children, just like I have dreams for mine. After several years away from home, I recently moved back to Florida so that I could raise my daughters near my parents, grandmother and extended family. We see my grandmother often. At 84, she continues to model the hard work ethic and “family first” values that have shaped who I am today.

Now a U.S. citizen, my grandmother is determined to vote this year. On election day, we’ll both be casting ballots, with another vision for the future of this nation in our hearts.

Editor’s Note: This article was supported by the Domestic Worker Legacy Fund, a 501c4 that works to support nannies, housecleaners, and caregivers in order to advance the rights and socio-economic well-being of domestic workers.

--

--

The National Domestic Workers Alliance

The National Domestic Workers Alliance is the nation’s leading voice for dignity and fairness for the millions of domestic workers in the United States.