How to Unlock your Creativity

Dominika Stoppa
3 min readJul 25, 2019

--

For a long time, I’ve been asking myself what is blocking my creativity. I’ve been asking myself how to break thinking patterns and leave the baggage behind me. I’ve been asking myself how to let go and release the past.

Around a year ago I felt like I needed to slow down and withdraw so I went within. For a few weeks, I’ve been journaling and meditating.

Creative Mandala | Theme: “Me, Myself and I” by Dominika Stoppa

When you surround yourself with silence you start to hear the voice inside you.

I got my answers. I sat at my desk and started drawing. I didn’t break the creative process until I had 100 symbols in front of me. That was the start of developing a new art therapy method.

Creative Mandala is a unique combination of collage, using circular mandala shapes, over 100 symbols, photos, quotes and other elements that are significant to the makers.

Every piece is different and meaningful to the Creative Mandala Maker. From first glance, they are original symbolic pieces of art, but for their creator, they are often telling a story behind one’s life chapter. Creative Mandalas help to heal, let go and move forward.

Creative Mandala | Theme: “Family” by Dominika Stoppa

Creative Process

Step 1: Reflection

Working on Creative Mandalas is a contemplative process. Creative Mandala Makers often have an intention to grasp, embrace or release a life event or chapter. If nothing comes to your mind, they enjoy the process by working intuitively.

Step 2: Preparation

Makers go through Creative Mandala Starter Set (100 printed symbols and their meaning) and choose the ones that resonate with them to tell the story. Some creators use photographs, personal notes or even old letters. There is no right or wrong.

Step 3: Creation

Creating the artwork is a contemplative and intuitive process. Symbols and other meaningful elements are used to make a composition within a circle, these are then glued together and finally coloured using paints.

Creative Mandala Starter Set (mandala.ie)

Conclusion

My goal was to create a template for a self-discovery journey, a tool that can easily be used to help release or embrace life chapters, a method to reconnect with creativity.
I have founded a community on Facebook Creative Mandala Makers where every month I go LIVE to share a theme to spark creativity and encourage Makers to take quality time for themselves and create meaningful symbolic artworks.

Get your Creative Mandala Starter Set (100 Symbols) and unlock your creativity. Join the Tribe of Creative Mandala Makers.

--

--

Dominika Stoppa

Artist & Founder of Creative Mandala (mandala.ie) | An Award-Winning Coach and Trainer | Corporate & Entrepreneur Wellness (dominikastoppa.com)