PM10check — a free worldwide air quality monitoring bot

Don Filipo
2 min readAug 22, 2024

--

Photo by Chris LeBoutillier on Unsplash

Sahara dust storm

In April 2024, when the Sahara dust swept across Europe, I was out for a run, thinking I was doing something good for my health. Little did I know, PM 2.5 levels were at record highs, and I paid the price for it in the days that followed. Sometimes, it’s actually healthier to stay indoors, drink coke and watch TV.

What made me angry was that I knew the risks of poor air quality, but I hadn’t checked the reports that day. That’s when the idea of a “bad air warning system” was born. I searched for a simple solution but couldn’t find anything that fit the bill, so I decided to create one myself.

OpenAQ.org and Telegram

When searching for a source of local real-time air quality data, I stumbled upon the OpenAQ.org project. With worldwide real-time data available, I thought, why create a local alert solution when I could leverage this global resource? That’s how the idea for PM10check was born. I chose Telegram because it’s simple to use, has built-in instant notifications, and doesn’t require users to install a special app.

Introducing the PM10check

PM10check is a Telegram bot designed to keep you informed about the air quality in your area, in real time. By simply entering your location, the bot will automatically connect to the nearest air quality monitoring station and provide you with up-to-date information about PM10 and PM2.5 levels.

But it doesn’t stop there. The bot is programmed to send you alerts when the air quality deteriorates, so you’ll know when to avoid outdoor activities or take other precautions. Just as importantly, the bot will notify you when the air quality improves, so you can resume your normal activities without worry.

How to Use the PM10check:

Getting started with the PM10Check Bot is easy:

  1. Install Telegram: If you don’t already have Telegram, download it from the App Store or Google Play and set up your account.
  2. Find the Bot: Search for the pm10check in the Telegram app using the search function or click on this link https://t.me/pm10check_bot
  3. Enter Your Location: The bot will ask for your location to connect you with the nearest air quality monitoring station.
  4. Receive Alerts: Once set up, you’ll start receiving real-time alerts whenever there’s a significant change in air quality near you.

--

--