One of my first dates with my husband included helping him with a project at his lakefront home.

Donna Kayarian Chiacchia
2 min readMay 2, 2024
Infographic Credit: Daryn Rowley, Daryn Rowley Design

Distribution of labor does not have to be a TOUCHY subject for any project team.

One of my first dates with my husband included helping him with a project at his lakefront home.

While discussing the project, we got on the subject about what it takes to run a household.

We made a list and then asked each other to put our initials next to the activities for which we would be responsible.

This is how it played out….

The project that was going on, was a stone wall being built by the shoreline.

I am the granddaughter of a stone mason and a Masonic Mason so this was something familiar and interesting to me.

That evening my mother had invited us to dinner.

We discussed what to bring and then set out to complete our projects.

While I was working my project, a good friend drove by and stopped while I was separating stone for the wall.

“Where’s Tom?” he asked.

I responded, “inside baking bread”.

Poor fellow was super perplexed.

I have been happily married to the guy “inside baking bread” for 23 years.

Just like running any other project…make the “list,” initial your responsibility, and go to it.

Never be afraid to STRIP it down and keep it SIMPLE…that approach was always APPEALING to my chief project manager…

Thanks honey!

Look forward to our continued connection and conversation. Follow me on Medium, Substack, and LinkedIn.

--

--

Donna Kayarian Chiacchia

I help people build transformational businesses that achieve market share authority.