Words to Live By: Three Things to Keep Me in Check for 2015

Donna Talarico
5 min readJan 19, 2015

--

(Since I’m new to Medium.com, I decided I’d start by sharing some previous posts from my personal entities, like this one from All the Sh*t Done. As 2015 is winding down, I thought revisiting this made sense.)

Taking a cue from Chris Brogan, I decided to go with a different approach to goal-setting in the new year. Brogan has been doing this really cool thing since 2006, and I just read about it for the first time this year via his email newsletter. The idea? Choose three words to keep my goals in check this year.

The dictionary is pretty darn big. Especially if you’re looking at the Oxford volumes. But I was able to narrow down this expansive English vocabulary to three entries:

Conserve. Accomplish. Love.

My 2015 words of the year.

The idea was to not be too specific or too vague in selecting your words. I chose ones that had a few meanings, which will broaden the scope of this self-improvement approach. What I love about choosing three words is that I don’t exactly have to set a resolution per se; I just can still have lots of small goals, and as new challenges or opportunities come my way, I can quickly refer to this trio of terms to make sure any new or continued effort aligns. It can help me make better decisions in the day to day.

I wrote these words on index cards and have them hanging on the wall above my computer in my home office. I might post them at work too.

As I pondered all of the things I wish I could do better, wish I did less of or wish I did more of, I was able to fit them into one (or more) of my three “buckets.” But this is not to say these are my exact goals — as I stated earlier, thinking of these three words will help guide me through daily life. Nonetheless, I can’t help but think of many ideas.

Let me explain my word choices and then give some of those examples.

CONSERVE

This word is all about saving. Saving time. Saving energy. Saving money. Saving hassle and heartache. Saving the environment (or at least being aware of my carbon footprint!)

When I sat down and thought of ways I could conserve, I came up with the list, below. A lot of these things, like leftovers-gone-bad, have bothered me for years. When I put some of my wishes in the context of conservation, I see how many aspects of improving my health, well-being and life enjoyment are related to cutting back.

  • Borrow books from the library this year rather than purchase
  • Don’t buy any new clothes unless absolutely necessary
  • Don’t by any new household items unless absolutely necessary
  • When I do need things, check Goodwill or yard sales first
  • Save enough money to pay one year’s worth of rent and car payments in case I get urge to take a year off from Corporate America to devote time to writing
  • Throw away less moldy food each trash night
  • Sleep more
  • Turn down the heat
  • Remember to bring my reusable bags to the grocery store, dammit
  • Reach my 2015 Empty Shelf Challenge goal

ACCOMPLISH

I’m an idea person. I once had a brainstorm for a literary magazine, Hippocampus, and I moved forward with that idea — a huge accomplishment, and one that continues to give me (and others) joy. However, for every idea I put into action are several others that remain an entry in a Moleskine or my iPhone’s Notes app. So, this year, I will work harder at actually starting things. Some ideas might need lots of planning or take years to fully develop; however, what I can do is create a timeline or do something that would set the stage for implementation. I know I can’t do that with every single idea, of course because I have many. But I can do a better job of organizing those ideas and putting things in motion to make the ones that rise to the top happen.

Additionally, “accomplish” can also mean professional achievements. While this year I am dialing back on some work-related commitments, I want to really pursue publishing opportunities and get back into writing for me.

Some practical examples:

  • Put ideas into action
  • Finish what I start
  • Get something published in a literary journal
  • Get another word puzzle published in GAMES
  • Do what I say I will do
  • Create a schedule and stick to it
  • Create something to hang on my wall
  • Learn something new

LOVE

When you’re not even making yourself a priority, it’s also easy to overlook those that love you. The “busy, busy, always on the go” Donna does incredible things and I don’t want that to change — but I need to be the “friend,” “wife” and “relative” Donna more often. Getting reacquainted with some family members over the past few years has been wonderful, and I want to deepen those relationships. A December visit to Oklahoma to my aunt and cousins reminded me of how awesome a close-knit family can be. My family situation is unique and hard for many to understand — myself included. I want to make the most of it.

And LOVE also means spending more time on myself. Even little things like getting a haircut. I had a revelation the other day in the company of a friend, and I exclaimed, “Getting a haircut isn’t a luxury! Why am I treating it that way? It’s a personal grooming thing!” Now, getting highlights or coloring or something with a higher price tag might lean toward the “treating yourself” angle, but what I mean is just going somewhere to get the split ends off every once in a while. I deserve that.

Some practical examples I’ve already thought of for myself, many of which are long overdue:

  • Spend more downtime with my husband
  • Get to know family members I don’t see often better
  • Write letters
  • Do more work I’m passionate about and less of what I don’t absolutely love; this means I have to ask myself, “Do I really love this?” more often
  • Complain less about the little things but speak up when something really matters
  • Get a haircut more than once a year
  • Get a pedicure
  • Get a massage
  • Exercise

Those are my three words and some examples of how I might pay more attention to those words. It’s already working. Last night, at Target, I put what could have been new throw pillows back onto the shelf as CONSERVE popped into my head. I did not, however, put away a new wall clock for the bathroom. Having that round ticking machine will prevent me from looking at my phone for a “quick” time check — which we all know can lead to “just looking at Twitter quick.”

If you were to pick three words, what would they be and why?

Originally published at www.allthestuffdone.com on January 19, 2015.

--

--

Donna Talarico

Writer, content marketing consultant, speaker & literary magazine publisher from Lancaster, Pa. I’m forever curious and love road trips, cheese and board games.