Daily Post #369 Celebrating Ada Lovelace

Donnie SC Lygonis
2 min readOct 12, 2021

--

The matematician Ada King, Countess of Lovelace. detailj of painting from 1840 by Alfred Edward Chalon. Image: Science Museum Group

Today on October 12th we are celebrating Ada Lovelace and Ada Lovelace Day.

We do it to celebrate and raise awareness of all female achievements in science, or put even more broadly, STEM.

Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics.

Ada is considered to be the first computer programmer, having written the first ever algorithm for a programmable machine.

She also predicted and suggested that this calculating machine could be used for so much more than only doing mathematical calculations.

History has to a large extent been told and written by men, leaving out centuries of female achievements and innovations, something a good friend of mine, Katrine Marçal, pointed out in her book “Mother of Invention”. A must-read for anyone interested in innovation history or gender history for that matter.

In my work I meet a lot of people with great ideas, and I try hard to celebrate them all, no matter who they come from, but I realize I live in a biased world and I have my unconscious biases as well, just like everyone else.

So today I am happy to have some of those preconceptions put into place. It might feel like a blunt exercise to only see the male / female perspective since we are so much more diverse than that, but considering what the world looks like, I’d say it’s a good start in working towards diversity.

Ada, today is your day and we celebrate you and all women that came both before and after you.

#adalovelaceday #womenengineers #entrepreneurship #donniesdaily #innovation #diversity #inspiration

--

--