Liquid Rev

A poem about buoyancy and the elusive destinations of dreamscapes

Doodleslice
1 min readSep 24, 2023

--

Layout with text of the poem on the left and a photo of a corridor of doorways on the right. Poem and layout by Doodleslice, Photo by Filip Kominik on Unsplash
Liquid Rev by Doodleslice 2023, Photo by Filip Kominik on Unsplash

Do you dream as I do?
Exploring strange rooms
In familiar buildings
Opening phantom doors
Greeting lovers
Lost relatives
Beloved pets
Forgotten comforts
Evading description

What is the weather in your dream?
I never know if it rains
Viscous atmosphere
Lifts me
Buoyant dreamer
I need no raft
Or paddle

Downriver
I awaken
Searching my closet
For a door
That was never
Always there

___

By Doodleslice 2023–06–05

So many voyages undertaken with eyes closed to the waking world, but it is only then that we can see so vividly the longings and confusions of our inner minds. Seeking and sorting, finding strangeness in the familiar, and somehow, miraculously, feeling at ease in circumstance that if encountered while awake would doubtless terrify even the most doughty among us. Interpretation is temptation, but Freud forgive me, I think it is missing the point. Dreams are experiences first. Perhaps we manufacture them, perhaps they are missives from spirits beyond our ken, but does it really matter? They are yours. They are mine. They are always, never, often, and seldom. Aren’t they just?

--

--

Doodleslice

Artist and Poet. Imperfectionist. I hope my poems and art bring you some joy. I believe you should be you - be an interesting Earthling. Be a beacon.