Robin Goodfellow’s Cover Letter

Doodleslice
2 min readAug 25, 2023
A drawing of a Pan-like figure surrounded by animals in a loose cartoon style with vibrant colors. Accompanied by the text of the poem on this page. Words and art by Doodleslice.
Illustration by Doodleslice 2023

I’m the silly son of titans
Drumming tin cans and a pie plate
Tiptoeing elephants trumpet
Tusk-tisking when I arrive late
Eloquently disapproving
Of a certain semi-primate

Possums pups dance on their mum’s back
Spilling tea trays filled with suet
I laugh and tightly hold my nose
Wondering, why do they do it?
It’s sticky, gross, weird, and stinky
But there must be something to it

My lessons learned from grasshoppers
I try to teach to busy ants
They smile at my shenanigans
But try them once? They simply cants
Maybe next time with my panpipes
Even ants could enjoy a dance

Oh where shall I goest?
Let my trip soon commence
Oh what doth thou knowest?
This silly world’s immense

I’ve arrived ere I started
I left not, yet long ago
Miss me whilst ’twas departed?
I care not, I’ll have you know

--

--

Doodleslice

Artist and Poet. Imperfectionist. I hope my poems and art bring you some joy. I believe you should be you - be an interesting Earthling. Be a beacon.