Creatures

Dorkter
2 min readJul 2, 2016

--

I was never the sharpest mind, not in the family, not in the school and even now not in the college. Mocks of being someone with a big physical head and never using it on time came from the distant relatives too. That’s why I seldom thought before making bets. And the same happened two days ago. Sadly, my luck ran out this time and right now I find myself standing in the plains just before the start of this jungle to the north of Islamabad.

Before you even ask my answer is no. I have heard the stories of strange things living in those woods but I don’t believe it. It can be a really great propaganda by the Government. If the recent assassination of the opposition leader could be state sponsored, this little rumor of the woods right next to the nuclear installation be infested with the unknown can be a Government lie as well. And my “head” believed it to be a lie. I packed a bag of all the things I needed for this lost-bet adventure including my precious iPhone.

As the night crawled in, I felt a strange fear rising in me. What if those stories were not made up. What if they were real for real. What if…. I crept through the tall grass and reached at the foot of a mountain. There was a hut on the top and the lights were lit. Smoke kept coming out of one of the chimneys and I didn’t need a binocular to see that. I had walked hardly twenty yards when I saw the door open and someone walked out of that hut. But even in this cloudless, starry night sky I couldn’t see who it was. Maybe some local residents. My destination was a tree right at the base of the mountain. I was moving as silently as I could. Suddenly I heard some noises and someone lit a fire next to a big tree. There were two figures. I couldn’t see their faces. Masks…?? Maybe they were government or Army personnel. If that were the case, it was an orchestrated propaganda and my hunch was right. But as I moved closer to that tree, the silhouettes became clearer. And so did my fears.

Someone or something moved in the grass next to me.

Dorkter

--

--