I Don’t Give a F⋆⋆⋆ About S.O.L.I.D Principles — Here Are My Reasons

At least not anymore! After so many years of coding, I write new code on autopilot.

.com software
4 min readJan 17, 2023
Image by Andrea Piacquadio

Have you been on medium.com for a while? Surely you did notice a publication or two about S.O.L.I.D principles in programming.

These principles (in principle ☺) help to make code easier to comprehend, maintain, and change. The SOLID acronym stands for:

  • Single-responsibility principle,
  • Open-closed principle,
  • Liskov’s substitution principle,
  • Interface segregation principle,
  • Dependency inversion principle.

This is one of these topics every fresh writer-programmer starts writing about. In principle, you can probably find publications on this paradigm for any programming language, including CSS (yes, go figure.)

A picture of an old man with text “Experience is what you have left when everything else is gone”
imgflip.com

As the years pass inexorably, with me in the programming industry, there is virtually no need for me to think about any programming principles.

--

--

.com software

Father • PHP developer • entrepreneur • working for a €1bn unicorn startup as a backend engineer >>> https://bit.ly/dotcom-software