Why ‘Rick Nelson, In Concert: The Troubadour, 1969’ Is The Greatest Live Album You’ve Never Heard

Backed by the incredible talents of his Stone Canyon Band, Nelson proves he’s more than Ozzie and Harriet’s heartthrob son.

Jill Valentino
12 min readMay 16, 2019

An Absolutely Amazing CD… and Me

About three summers ago, I received this gem in the mail. I ordered it after watching a Rick Nelson documentary during a late-night Google Eagles binge-search (I fell in love with the music of the Eagles fairly recently, in 2015, and Rick Nelson ties into their history. But more on that later.).

Since then, this double album has been one of my all-time favorite music compilations.

Ever.

The CD cover. Photo by Jill Valentino (2016).

A double CD!

42 songs! 12 from the original 1970 live LP, and 30 previously unissued newly mixed alternate 1969 Troubadour performances!

Nice.

I seldom purchased CDs then (or now), preferring instead to get the bulk of my music online (legally, o’course). Yet, the first time I popped in this CD and listened to the first few songs, I was instantly glad to have bought it. Whoever remastered these 42 songs from the original, now-50-year-old 8-track tapes back in 2011…

--

--

Jill Valentino

Mom, Wife, Essayist, Educator, Student, Classic & Grunge Rock Lover, Introvert. Topics: Parenting, Education, Music, Poetry, Self-Care, Books, & Creativity.