Doug’s Adventure In The Southern Alps

Doug Kennedy
2 min readJun 19, 2023

--

Image from www.Slovenia.info

I have an air ticket to Lubljana departing London at 6am on June 20th and another from Venice back to London on June 30th. I am taking a medium-sized rucksack.

On my 60th birthday I set off from Land’s End with John Drinkwater and we walked to John O’Groats, calling it LE Musical JOG (Land’s End to John O’Groats). I’m 74 now, and time’s inexorable stream is rushing me on, and soon I won’t be able to walk up mountains, so I’m going on a 10-day adventure to Slovenia’s Julian Alps, and Italy’s Dolomites. I’d like to have made it several weeks, but am not sufficiently thick-skinned and unkind to desert Lindsey for longer.

I have booked hotels for my first and last nights, but from June 21st to 29th, I will go where the wind takes me. There isn’t time to do the distance on foot, so I want to explore the area by a mixture of walking an public transport. These alps are very high and mostly comprised of limestone, which is a theme running through my posts on Medium ( A Riddle: When does life become landscape?); and I want to see how the people live and watch and photograph wildlife.

The weather forecast for the area looks hot and a bit muggy with occasional rain and thunder storms, so I’m not taking any cold weather gear. This means that I can fit everything into my 30 litre rucksack, which weighs less than 10 Kilograms! I also have a bumbag which will hold my camera lenses and stuff.

I’m going to try to write a blog each evening and tweet some photo’s, as I did during all 51 days of LeMusicalJog, so send me an email (doug@doug-kennedy.com) or click the Mail Me icon below if you’d like to follow my progress.

The next post —

--

--

Doug Kennedy

Photographer, environmentalist, has-been musician, occasional poet, writer and publisher. A life-long nature lover, surprised I ended up in Middle England.