About Me

Douglas Rocha
3 min readAug 5, 2022

--

Baby Yoda saying Hello There

Hi! My name is Douglas and I’m a Data Science Enthusiast, but that much you probably already knew from my Medium bio. I’m a Portuguese speaking Brazilian with hopes that my English is enough for you to understand most of what I write here.

My goal here is to showcase how I’ve learned (and will learn) the Data Science and Data Analysis skills required for landing a job in the field. That should mostly be in the form of projects, but there may also be a few tutorials, cheat sheets, and reviews.

Here I should talk a real lot about Python, as it’s the programming language I’m most familiar with and also the best (in my humble opinion) for Data Science. You should also see a lot of Machine Learning and Statistics, some SQL and Excel (or Google Sheets) and a couple of Power BI use cases.

Hopefully, in the near future, you and I alike should be able to come to this publication and have an idea of what path one could take towards learning Data Science and landing their first job.

My Background

I can’t say I started studying Data Science out of nowhere nor that I come from a field of work not related to this one. Thus, if you hope to actually understand and maybe follow my development as a Data Scientist, a few things are worth mentioning.

First of all, I already belong to the IT world. I have a Bachelor’s Degree in Computer Engineering from UFBA (a university in Brazil). In school, I’ve done Research Assistantship and my Undergraduate Thesis on the same subject: Musical Tempo Extraction with Machine Learning. So yes, I have some background in Data, Machine Learning, and, especially, Python. More specifically, I have already taken Andrew Ng.’s courses on Machine Learning (older version with Matlab) and Deep Learning (all except the NLP one) and read some books on the matter.

That said, when you see my studies on Machine Learning or Python, expect me to know a bit more than what one would know in that step of the learning process. Not much though, there’s too much to know about it for me to know anything close to all.

So that’s it. Feel free to read my other posts (I hope a have some for you to read at this point) and learn a bit about how I, Douglas, became a Data Scientist (fingers crossed).

--

--

Douglas Rocha

Software Engineer | Working Java, React, SQL and Python | Writing Best Coding Practices, Clean Code and Software Engineering