IS A MAN STILL A MAN?

Douglas Rugambwa
5 min readJul 2, 2017

--

Money, power, prejudice

How much will you mention

Are you scared of this

How much will you listen

I can feel a confession wrapped

Inside the concern on your face

Are you human still or are you dead like the rest of us

Your eyes are paranoid you can’t look at me straight

You got that zombie walk, no justice for the life

It’s the fruit of your strife but I feel you mate

Are you human tho

Is a man still a man tho?

Is you alright, do you know what’s right

Would you know what’s alright if it was

This air you breathe but do you know your cause

You’re confused and confusing yourself

Is a man still a man?

Don’t tell me what you don’t know

Do you know what I mean when I ask you though

Can you tell if you’re alright?

Can you tell, man, can you tell?

can you feel what you feel

what you feeling is it even real?

feel like it meant something to you

or at least like it used to

I know you don’t wanna be bothered

You out here weighing your pockets

Sizing yourself, look around

you done being hurt

You’re afraid to listen, you’re abusing yourself

You’re afraid to look, you’re afraid to feel things

you believed you never should

Are you alright though? You know it’s not working

But you hide under the guise though

It ain’t gonna save you, no amount of binge

will elevate it’s all gonna drain you

“You poured the water into the bucket and it filled an entire lake

Now its time to go all the way down and come face to face with what you’ve made.”

And I stood at the edge of a lake. The sunlight glittered on the surface of the water inside a bucket beside me. The lake reflected an image of me. A tired and concerned image. I was urged to take the first step. And so I did. One foot into the water. And then the next. Until the water rose higher and higher up my legs. Then it drenched my red shirt. I walked deeper into the lake, the waters now at my chin. I closed my eyes, feeling it rise every second until I was all in.

I kept walking. Deeper and deeper to the bottom of the lake, where it got darker and the light was dim. I asked myself, “What am I supposed to find?”

You’ve been biting your teeth

You’ve been biting yourself

You’re resentful enough

everybody can tell

You’ve had it and you’ve had nothing at all

You’ve had it all but it’s not what you love

You’re abusing your patience for the time that time abused you of

You couldn’t wait any longer you got tired of it all

You’ve been resentful and it’s been filling you up

It’s been filling your bucket and it’s been in the way you talk

You can’t see past the pain, the darkness lurking inside

the deep waters

You wish somebody had told you

You wish you never started,

You wish you never asked, you wish

you never prayed or wanted

You wish you could be wantless

And satisfied

But you had a taste of the fruit

Of something better than the regular life

The strife has been killing you

You hate to be wanting

This is the feeling of being lost and

This is the feeling where you’re looking

where God is

You’re looking for who the hell can stop it

Stop the curse

Stop the feeling

Stop the want, kill the dream, kill the ambition, your eyes

are paranoid and your heart won’t rest

Are you still alright, she says it’s all just a test

Can you really see it?

You’re resentful though

You’re done with it all

This is the place you’re looking where God is

Somebody to come in and stop the curse and stop it

You can’t handle how much you want it

That’s the part that tears you apart, you’re a mess, in

chains still, in bondage,

you want it,

you know you want it,

A hope with a leash and it gave you back

nothing

Maybe this is the place where God is

Maybe this is the place at the bottom of it all

Do u have anything left to say?

Do you know what’s left to say?

Do you know what’s left in you?

You had one more chance to be blessed today,

or try to believe that maybe this time around

you’ll have your way

Or God’s way, if God’s still here in inner space

She misses you and wants to help you relax,

Will you take another day to sacrifice again

Do you have any hope in you or is this the end?

The waters flowed around me. The darkness swallowed me whole. I wasn’t afraid anymore. I was just… feeling it all. Seeing it all. Perhaps accepting it. I don’t know how often I may have to come to the bottom again. I don’t know what’s there for me at the top of the lake. Sometimes you don’t know if you’re looking for yourself or looking for God. You don’t know if this is all life has to offer or if you’re meant for more. If this is a test and here’s all I am. I can’t give you an answer. I can’t satisfy this narrative because I done tried so much already in my life. If something good happens, I’ll tell you. If nothing happens, I’ll tell you nothing has happened. It’s all I can say. I can’t say anything nice if it doesn’t exist. I can’t tell you stories that haven’t happened. I can just tell you about the darkness at the bottom of the lake. And I’m here. In the midst of it. Hoping that I can make some sense of it all.

You’ve been here for a while

You’re counting the years

You’re counting the early morning hours

and the midnight tears

Can you write it off?

Write yourself a cheque, stick it on a wall

You wanna be authentic, you want to be yourself

Will you be yourself even though it hurts

Will you purchase yourself, whatever it means

I see you weighing your pockets

You feel like it’s not enough

You feeling like you want me to pitch in

You feel like nobody’s helping you bruh

You wanna purchase yourself, your freedom’s in drought

May He give you the desires of your heart,

You’re hoping you’ll be worth the mercy and the luck

Worth what you wish for and want

You’re looking for a clue, a sign or a dove

You’re looking for an answer, a way to enough

You’re looking to purchase yourself with anything else

Like you ain’t worth yourself

Like you ain’t close enough

You’re looking for permission for somebody to save you

When you were five years old what happened

to what God gave you?

drawing paintings in elementary school

Looking at your life now, thinking is this how he made you?

Are you alright?

If you don’t get your answers

will you lose yourself

Is a man still a man tho?

ask yourself

--

--