Rick Scott Protects Florida

Blue Boomer
3 min readJul 7, 2023
But who protects Floridians from Rick Scott?

Dear Skeletor (AKA Rick Scott)

I’ve started this letter to you at least thrice, maybe more. My first versions were snarky. I mean, who can ever think about Rick Scott without attaching Medicare fraud, the two kind of go together like biscuits and gravy. Although, as you are not really a Southerner, that analogy may not mean so much to you.

Anyway …. Who the hell do you think you are to indicate who is not welcome in the state of Florida? Were you, your parents, or your grandparents born there? Or are you a Johnny-come-lately who came to see how easy it is to get away with Medicare fraud?

I’m getting snarky again, and that wasn’t my real intent.

My intent was to address why everyone is so damned snarky these days.

I’d like to blame it all on Trump, Facebook, Twitter, and all the other weapons of mass dissemination, but it must be more complicated. I’ve been angry since the day Donald Trump was elected president, and I know I’m not the only one.

People I barely knew were screaming at me on FaceBook, and I was screaming back. I don’t think Trump was the actual cause of the furor, but he let the genie out of the bottle, and social media gave him the theatre.

Suddenly it was OK to hate

--

--