Some things anthology editors hate.

Baldy Mulligan
3 min readFeb 25, 2020

--

Our logo

I must confess that I have repeatedly committed anthologization, and would probably do so again. And, having spoken to periodical editors at some length, I feel pretty secure in saying that antho editors and mag/blog editors have similar experiences and needs.

Further, it is my belief that every writer should edit one or more of such journals at least once in their writing life, so that they can understand what it is they do.

The very first thing I will rail against is the lack of contact information or even identification at the top of manuscripts. Please feel free to include your name and email in the upper left-hand corner. It would facilitate matters greatly if you were to do so, o you scribes.

For me, this is an instant bounce. Except for this one guy. He does this habitually, and tells me that the really good story with no name on it is his. This person is sufficiently good that I allow this peccadillo. But he is the only one. We have a story that’s in an antho that’s on the final Stoker ballot. I can deal.

Once you’ve ensured that your name, pseudonym, email, and possibly other contact information is on the document, take a moment to scan it. Hit edit, and select all, and follow the steps to make the text body consistent, in something like Courier or Times New Roman, 12-point, double-spaced.

Make sure that your story is proofread for spelling errors, punctuation errors, grammatical errors, operator error, and thread drift.

Make sure that when you send the manuscript in, that it is in .doc or .rtf format, not attached to a Google drive archive, not a .pdf, and that it is the final copy you wish to submit to the editor.

Because that’s the next deadly sin: DO NOT re-edit that piece unless you are specifically asked to. I’m a hands-off type. I don’t mess with the copy unless I have to. And I will leave the telling of the story in the writer’s hands. If I want changes, I WILL TELL YOU.

The publisher is paying me to make the book the best I can. And if I do it well, I get to do it again. My name is on it too.

That means something to me.

Our third bullet is aimed at those who would presume to ask for a critique. This is always a no. It has to be. This is not productive activity as far as book-assembly and should be avoided. I’m friends with everyone in the book.

If I have a critique, it will be covered when I ask for an edit. Ask M__. Hi M__!

He’ll tell you — I am terrible. Great, and terrible. At least that’s what I tell myself… I will not lie to you. I really won’t. Yes, I am friends with everyone in the book. But this isn’t about that. I have standards, and a vision, too.

Anything that deters me from the assembly of the book is my sworn enemy. Books will wither on the vine, and if they remain, can become ball-and-chain. That vision can get clouded, the judgments not so keen.

Bleed on the page, says J__.

Send it in. Wait to be contacted.

Byline, contact info, proper manuscript form. Not to be Shunned. Tell it as well as you can. Good luck!

--

--

Baldy Mulligan

Vexation without misrepresentation. Occasionally helpful but not very. Always trying. Lefty crank. Herbal enthusiast. Pet daddy. Alleged musician, home chef.