Mental Health & Self Care Tips

The Pretty Poems X
3 min readMar 6, 2019

--

I’ve been wanting to write this post for a while. You guys know I’ve been going through a little bit of depression, anxiety, and allll that yeah so Iwanted to talk about my mental well-being and what I do when I need to raise my vibration, bring myself up out of that depression fog. Who knows? Maybe this could help some one else, so here’s my list of things I do when I feel blue.

Keep A Bullet Journal

I knew I wanted to try to do a bullet journal for real this time. I’ve attempted them in the past but things got messy. KEEPING A BULLET JOURNAL, WHERE I REVIEW MY PROGRESS EVERY WEEK HAS HELPED SO MUCH. I began cultivating daily gratitude and it serves as a reminder when I need to take care of myself. I noticed after the first week I was feeling better.

Hot Bath + Candle

One tonic for a depressive episode or even a busy workday is to fill up a tub with hot water with fragrance, I like to add candles. And I always bring my journal but I never use it, I just like to have it by the bathtub with me in case something needs to be written. Don’t need an Archimedes moment. I also feel it’s important to incorporate smells *a little aromatherapy engineering.”

Guided Meditation

A guided meditation is ideal when you’re ruminating on negative thoughts— tune in to a better station. I’m not listening to gurus like the Dahli lama (I mean you can if you want!) I just type in Youtube “guided meditation for health” and a calm voice guides me on a happier train of thought. I’ve done a guided meditation for sleep, health, and success so far. It’s vital to communicate with yourself with compassion and you’ll see the direct effects loving thoughts have on your body.

Journal With Me

Journal With Me videos calm me down and inspired me. When I was a child I’d keep memorabilia in my diaries — movie tickets and clothing tags, stickers, notes, that kind of stuff. I am definitely going to do more of thes scrapbook spreads, it’s very good for my psyche.

Make A Happy Playlist

Music is where I go to to create. I have a Disney playlist that when I play it I can’t help but feel gleeful. The old Disney songs are so Broadway, like Anastasia’s “Journey to the Past” and “Just Around the River Bend” from Pocahontas. I don’t listen to anything that will make me sad. Music is made up of vibrations, a visual art, so you don’t want to repeat sad depressing lyrics, you want to find songs that make you smile. And sing! Sing to your favorite songs.

Go Outside

A reminder to take a little bit of each day to go outside, breathe in fresh air, and cloud gaze. I like to bring a book or journal. I don’t like the cold temperatures though. Lately, I’ve been in my mole hole.

I know this advice has all been said before, but done every day does the body good like medicine.

--

--

The Pretty Poems X

A small town poet from Texas writing about what hurts the most.