Bernhard Drax
1 min readJun 19, 2016

--

Would love to hear a bit more why Second Life is not VR. I have documented over this world over the past 9 years and have spoken to hundreds of people who speak of full immersion, no goggles required. There seems to be a power to creating a digital alter ego [the avatar] and making one’s own world that one can inhabit that is able to let us forget the screen between us and the world. Interfacing with SL via the Oculus for the first time was certainly icing on the cake [many SL residents have reported similar experiences to me] but it was just another display device connected to a universe made by us. So how come that SL is not VR in your opinion? Is anything that does not have the latest HMD and other input devices not fit the description? Is a AAA game VR just because it works with data glove and goggles but does not have to offer a world we can shape ourselves in order to qualify? I guess what I am getting at: how much does the world-building aspect play into your use of the term = is the user empowerment irrelevant vis-a-vis the “complete” immersion [defined as shutting out physical surroundings] facilitated by the rendering device? I have no academic credentials in this regard but I have been on the ground for a while and I think this demands a real nuanced debate :) Thank you!

--

--