How I built a Medium content archive website with Laravel

dreadfullyposh (Jeremy Gimbel)
9 min readMar 31, 2020
Photo by Safar Safarov on Unsplash

As a member of the Medium Partner Program, I publish almost all of my content on Medium. But recently there’s been a lot of talk in my Twitter network about the Medium paywall and a lot of writers moving away from Medium because of it. Personally I still very much like Medium and don’t mind the paywall, so I plan to continue publishing here for the foreseeable future.

But I was struck with a little sense of fear about what would happen to my content if Medium were to go away, or simply change their model to one that I do not want to participate in.

So in the interest of maintaining continuity for my content, and also to provide an alternate means for readers to consume it, off of the Medium platform, I decided that I wanted to create a self-hosted archive of my Medium stories.

The end result can be seen here.

For years my personal website (dreadfullyposh.com) has been just a single static page. I haven’t bothered to use a CMS to drive it, since I rarely make updates to the page, let alone add any new content…

--

--

dreadfullyposh (Jeremy Gimbel)

I write about a web development, leadership, management, humor, and LGBTQ+ issues. Find me at https://dreadfullyposh.com.