What it’s like to get fired for being gay in 2018

dreadfullyposh (Jeremy Gimbel)
13 min readDec 26, 2018

As 2018 comes to a close and I reflect back, it’s been been a year of tremendous change for me. It’s been one of most challenging and life-changing experiences I’ve ever had.

This wasn’t the year I expected to become a target of homophobia. Not in 2018, not anymore, not since we’ve come so far.

But indeed that’s precisely what happened. And so without further introduction, here is the story of a very special Christmas gift that American Bible Society delivered to its staff in December 2017.

The Announcement

It was December 5, 2017. The staff of American Bible Society gathered that Tuesday morning just as they always did for their weekly prayer and staff meeting.

Few knew what, but almost everyone knew something was about to unfold.

But it wasn’t a normal Tuesday. The atmosphere was thick with unease. The room was quiet. The usual friendly morning chatter was replaced with stark silence and looks of fear, confusion, and nervousness. Few knew what, but almost everyone knew something was about to unfold.

I had been tipped off a few days before. And that morning I wore a rainbow-colored plaid shirt in silent protest. My colleagues were none the wiser as we assembled for the meeting.

--

--

dreadfullyposh (Jeremy Gimbel)

I write about a web development, leadership, management, humor, and LGBTQ+ issues. Find me at https://dreadfullyposh.com.