9 of The Biggest Lessons I Learned… From Almost Dropping Out of Art School

Dream Scout 🌙
7 min readMar 21, 2024
Image Created with Fotor. Copyright © 2024 Dream Scout. All rights reserved.

At age 13, I was accepted into a high school that was dedicated to fine arts.
As an anxious teen ready to become a full blown visual artist, I was more than excited to open the envelope that changed my life. I was nervous, but I felt like Harry Potter, because the envelope turned out to be an acceptance letter to the high school of my dreams.

There are many things I learned from that school. But I didn’t realize what I’d be getting myself into at the time. Here are some things I’ve learned directly from… while almost failing out of… and looking back on my high school education.

3 Valuable Things I Learned From Attending Art School

How to Maintain Discipline
I’ll still say to this day, many times over, that the discipline I built up from being in an art student isn’t something that you can find in the wild or by accident. Fine arts took up half of the day, and academics took up the other half. Art requires emotional energy and the right kind of expression. Academics requires studying and the right kind of obedience. Both require focus, patience, and efficiency. Maybe even some caffeine abuse to stay awake, as long as you don’t drown in it.

--

--

Dream Scout 🌙

Being a writer has always been my childhood dream job. Interests: Writing, technology, gaming, music, health, psychology, visual arts, science, and wildlife.