How Pneumonia Made Me a Gamer

Dream Scout 🌙
3 min readMar 23, 2024

Super Mario 64.
This was the game that started it all.

It was 2004. My first vivid memories on a computer were trying to navigate Space Cadet Pinball, learning how read and play on sites like primarygames.com, and printing out MapQuest directions for my mother.
It was around that time, that I had yet to play a proper console game other than an Atari or Spongebob plug-and-play.
All of that changed when I spent a few months in the hospital for a severe case of pneumonia.

I was the only 6 year old on the unit at the time, and although I suddenly had two chest tubes hanging out of my side, draining into an gritty looking box sitting next to my hospital bed, I didn’t care. Despite my mom being pretty upset about the bills, I remember being quite happy.

Sure the wheelchair rides down the hallway were kind of fun, and my heart-rate monitor was pretty cool looking, but what I cared about the most, was the system they kept bringing into my room.
It was a big fat Nintendo 64 that came on a cart with two controllers. Looking back, I believe I had about an hour to play before the nurses took it back, but I remember it as being hours at a time. Months and years even.
Of course as I kid, I was mesmerized by the colors. But with the controller in my hand, something else began to…

--

--

Dream Scout 🌙

Being a writer has always been my childhood dream job. Interests: Writing, technology, gaming, music, health, psychology, visual arts, science, and wildlife.