Raised by Karen: How Rebelling Against My Narcissistic Mother Shaped Me Into Being A Good Person

Dream Scout 🌙
9 min readMar 20, 2024
Original artwork by Jon Jaylo

I believe that most parents raise their children right. But I also believe that, no matter what, even the parents that don’t, are still role models to their children.
I was lucky enough to learn a lot from my mother. Even if a lot of it was what not to say, do, or act like.

I was very close to my mother, and I learned growing up that a narcissistic mother is a very powerful and smart woman. The only problem was, I never understood what narcissistic behavior was until very recently, and “Karen” compilations didn’t exist back then. In fact, half of the time, I didn’t even realize my mom was in the wrong. I mostly looked up to her like she was a goddess.

There’s a lot to learn from a “Karen,” or more appropriately… a narcissistic parent. It turns out, inappropriate parenting can raise a child very well.

Here’s what you’ll learn on your journey growing up with a narcissistic parent…

What You’ll Learn in Your Childhood
Your mother will teach you from a young age not to call the police or tell your teachers about her anger, or behavior at home. She will teach you this the same way you remember your address, school name, and phone number.
She will demonstrate for you, how to insult and…

--

--

Dream Scout 🌙

Being a writer has always been my childhood dream job. Interests: Writing, technology, gaming, music, health, psychology, visual arts, science, and wildlife.