Post Malone — “beerbongs & bentleys”

Drew Romanowski
5 min readOct 8, 2018

--

“beerbongs & bentleys” Album Artwork

I bet you didn’t see this one coming.

I’m going to take a moment to be totally honest with you and say I listen to it constantly. Like multiple times a week and have been for months. It’s great. I had no idea I would be in to this album as much as I am.

The only reason I initially even halfway considered listening was because I was on one of my “I want to find something new to listen to” kicks and when I’m in that mode I will listen to literally anything. I had heard a bunch of people talking about Post Malone and I basically wrote it off immediately because I don’t typically like anything in this genre. It used to be that I would know all the mainstream rap and country (good and bad) that everyone was listening to because my brother listens to it and would talk about how one artist or song was awesome or how it sucked. I would always let him play his music in my car and I would get pretty acquainted with all of it but as we’ve gotten older, he can drive now and is away at college so I’m a bit out of the game. I was talking to Madi, the girlfriend, though about some albums and music she’s in to and she said I should listen to Post Malone. So I did. Yike it’s good. I kind of hated myself at first because I didn’t like the fact that I liked it but then I just embraced it and am much better now because of it. Ha.

Post Malone managed to actually make music with this as opposed to putting down the same stale beat and talking crap over it like most do. The majority of his lyrics are really, really good too. When you listen to what he’s saying, he’s talking about real life things that a lot of people can relate to, myself included. One of the perfect examples is “Rich & Sad.” ‘Posty, who hurt you?’ (Inside joke)

It’s not that I don’t like rap. I like when what’s being said actually says something rather than talking about going to the club and getting after it. You know what I mean. Going further, I also can’t stand hearing the same freaking beat with the same re-hashed sounds as syncopated rhythms to make you think you’re hearing something different. This goes in to my point I’ve brought up quite a few times now regarding audiation. I don’t want to be able to guess what comes next or guess the structure of a song when listening to it for the first time. I understand that in rap that’s just part of it sometimes though because in all honesty, a lot of the genre is based more heavily around the lyrics anyway. With all that being said, it has turned into a platform that doesn’t interest me typically. I do love smack talk though and when everyone roasts everyone. Funny as crap.

“beerbongs & bentleys” has re-hashed beats don’t get me wrong. It’s natural to the genre like I mentioned. Post Malone does something with it though and actually sings in parts and creates really nice progressions and instrumentation around them. Overall it’s pretty chill too. He’s basically talking about his inner struggles throughout the whole thing, specifically about not being with someone he loves from what I can tell. The way he vocalizes his thoughts seem to be really in line with what people actually think rather than some idolized or over-dramatic version.

I have a few songs on here I love listening to. “Rich & Sad” is of course one. “Paranoid,” “Zack and Codeine,” “Over Now,” “Psycho,” “Better Now,” “Otherside,” “Stay,” and “Candy Paint” are others. I realize that’s a lot ha. Roast me, please. And while I love the whole album, I feel like these are really great examples of musicality throughout the whole thing. For a more specific example, “Zack and Codeine” has an awesome part where during the chorus, his harmonization goes from a minor third to a major third and alternates. It’s such a small detail that wasn’t needed but is the thing that sets him apart and is the kind of thing that gets my goat. Side note: something funny is every time I hear “Jonestown” it feels like the end of the album. It just has a good “finale” sound if you know what I mean. Every time it comes on I’m a little bummed until the next song and I realize there’s more. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve listened to this album now and I still think it’s over every time.

Let’s make sure we’re straight on something. I am by no means a pro at talking about rap. I’ll be the first one to tell you I don’t get it most of the time. It’s kind of like metal in that regard. If you understand it and you speak that musical language, you feel the energy and if not then you’re just turned off by it. I’m only recently starting to find rappers I even somewhat like. Post Malone is obviously one of those that I’m really digging. I would love to hear your thoughts on him. If you like him tell me why and if you can’t stand him then I definitely want to hear what you have to say.

Give this a full listen through and if there are some songs you don’t like that’s cool. Specifically listen to the ones I called out if nothing else. They’re super good.

2 weeks.

D.R.

P.S. I heard a Latino version of “Rockstar” and now every time I hear that song, all I can think about is that version. It’s hilarious just because I’m totally not used to that so I laugh every time.

https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/rockstar-remix-feat-nicky-jam-ozuna-single/1325716321

P.P.S. Suggest some artists to me you feel might be in this style. I would love to check them out.

--

--

Drew Romanowski

Owner and Chief Audio Engineer of OWABM Media. Coffee. Friendly, neighborhood super-hero. When reading my album reviews-listen through the album while reading.