Unlocking Success: How I Achieved 6.67 LPA after 1 Year of BCA

Linisha
2 min readAug 8, 2023

--

I graduated from BCA and started working in my hometown at a package of only 2.15 LPA in the same year.

I bagged a job paying 6.67 LPA in Kolkata (my hometown itself), unlike thousands of others who go to Bangalore, Hyderabad, etc., for similar packages.

It’s designated IT Supervisor at Garden Reach Shipbuilders and Engineers, a Central Government undertaking PSU job.

I found this job posting on Employment News. There was only one vacancy, and the catch was: BCA graduates were eligible!

I just applied for the heck of it, feeling I wouldn’t make it to the final round because of how competitive central government jobs are.

I merely wanted to gain some exposure.

Oh my God! I was so wrong! Thank heavens I persisted and applied for this job because not only did I make it to the final round, but I also got hired.

Applications for government jobs are more time-consuming and require more documents than private jobs. I took a leap in the dark, as nobody I know works in central government jobs in the IT sector. I googled extensively to find such people online, but it was in vain.

But it’s all worth it because my in-hand salary will hike by 150%.

Hence, I tell you, always believe in yourself and know you can do it!

If you want to know how I prepared and everything about the hiring rounds I successfully cleared, I have detailed them here just for you https://www.geeksforgeeks.org/garden-reach-shipbuilders-and-engineers-grse-kolkata-interview-experience-for-it-supervisor/.

--

--

Linisha

IT and blogging enthusiast. Interested in making more accessible plus visually appealing user interfaces, and better code. Love doing things which make me happy